Why No I3 Processor?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by TXCraig, Nov 6, 2010.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    TXCraig

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #1
    Why do you think Apple did not use the I3 processor in the new Air? Cost? I think it uses less power and is faster the much older Core 2 duo. I have not been able to find any information on it.
     
  2. macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #2
    Probably because they don't want to use intel integrated graphics and there's no space for a dedicated card. So they are left with the option of upgrading the CPU and downgrading the GPU or keeping the Nvidia chipset that has a better GPU but can't support anything above the Core 2 Duo
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    #3
    Cause we'd be stuck with intel integrated GPU which would overall produce a less powerful machine as the 320M is significantly better.
     
  4. Hellhammer, Nov 6, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2010

    Moderator emeritus

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    There was no i3 suitable for MBA when MBA was released. There are some i5s and i7s that fit in MBA but since 3rd party IGP cannot be used with iX CPUs due to licensing issues, you would be stuck with Intel IGP which isn't exactly amazing.

    Besides, MBA isn't targeted at power hungry users. SSD makes bigger difference for average Joe than any CPU in the world does.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    #5
    iX's CPU's cannot be used with 3rd party GPU's?

    *Cough cough* 15" + 17" inch MBP's use iX's CPUs with nvidia 330m...
     
  6. Moderator emeritus

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    330M is not an IGP
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    TXCraig

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    #8
    330m is not an IGP
     
  9. macrumors 68040

    ntrigue

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #9
    Next revision is Sandy Bridge then with Intel graphics?
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #10
    *Cough cough* Macrumors newbie.
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    #11
    i3's just came out calm down. I'm sure it will take time to custom fit the ix Processor.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    TXCraig

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #12
    Just Released?

    The i3 was released a year ago in January... it was not just released... The core 2 duo has been out since 2006 :mad:

    1500.00 bucks for a machine with a 4 year old proc?
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #13
    The processor isn't 4 years old.

    MBP's have been made since, what, 2006? That doesn't make new MacBook Pros 4 years old.
     
  14. macrumors regular

    pfjellman

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #14
    I'd rather have a slightly slower proc and a much better GPU, personally. processor isn't everything. and if you're really that worried about it, then you obviously have a need for a faster proc, in which the MBA simply isn't for you.
     
  15. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    #15
    It seems to me the obvious question hasn't been answered: Why can't the MBA have integrated AS WELL AS discrete GPU, i.e. for example i7 CPU plus 330m or 320 m like the Sony Vaio Z?
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #16
    There are no iX processors that will work for the MBA 11 (MBA 11 uses a 10W TDP CPU, iX minimum is 18W TDP)

    For the MBA 13 which uses a 17 W CPU (@1.86 or 2.13GHz) the best match is the i7-680UM which operates at a whooping 1.46 GHz for 18W,
     
  17. macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #17
    Just looked those up, wow they're expensive. A$3599 whereas the MBA tops out at A$1949.
     
  18. macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #18
    You need only to take a look at the logic boards for both the macbook air/macbook pro 13 inch and 15/17 inch macbook pros. Having a chip with integrated graphics as well as discrete graphics requires 3 separate chips soldered on to the logic board. The core2duo plus 320m only requires 2.

    [bandwagon]330M is not an IGP[/bandwagon]
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    #19
    The Z is $1,899.00 ($2199 for 256gb ssd)...

    i5 460m
    Auto/Manual switchable Nvidia GT 330m / intel intergrated graphics
    1600x900 matte screen
    Carbon fiber/Aluminum chassis
    128gb raid 0 ssd
    DVD Drive
    3.03 lbs
    GB ethernet
    Smaller footprint/ (but thicker compared to MBA 13.3)
     
  20. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    #20
    That's incorrect. $2149 for the i7. Source: Sony website.
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    jnpy!$4g3cwk

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #21
    Look at the benchmarks. i3 isn't impressive, and the IGP isn't either, so, the C2D + discrete graphics is a good trade.
     
  22. macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #22
    Sony Website

    Shows A$3599 for i5, A$4099 for super duper quad SSD i7.
     
  23. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #23
    In addition to licensing issues, I thought the current generation Intel integrated graphics don't support OpenCL which would make for a big performance hit. (Happy to be corrected if I'm wrong on that score)

    I think the first generation of Intel integrated graphics with OpenCL support will be those in Sandy Bridge, which may lead to Apple adopting Intel integrated graphics (and the more modern processors that accompany them) at that time...
     
  24. Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #24
    The GPU in the current MBA and 13" MB/P models is integrated (into the Nvidia chipset - which Intel does not allow with its iX CPUs, thus the C2D in the consumer models) and not discrete. Only the 15" and 17" MBP have discrete GPUs.
     
  25. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #25
    Errrr... The United States is not the only country in the world that uses a currency called a 'dollar', you know...
     

Share This Page