Why no mouse acceleration in mouse prefs?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by mark88, Jan 14, 2006.

  1. mark88 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    #1
    Is there any reason why Apple continue not to add this feature? surely they've heard all the complaints from new mac users? If you switch between mac and windows on a regular basis without using any third party apps it's a real pain dealing with the slow mouse movements/scaling in OS X. I know you can use USB overdrive etc etc, but it costs $$ and I don't see why such a simple option is left out?

    Is it such a hard thing to add? I'm confused...
     
  2. Verto macrumors 6502a

    Verto

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    #2
    http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/9091

    See if MouseZoom can alleviate some of your frustration.
     
  3. mark88 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    #3
    MouseZoon only allows you to adjust speed, I'm talking about scaling. ie, when you move your mouse a tiny bit, the OS X cursor hardly moves at all. It feels un-natural.

    USB Overdrive is the best app I've found to overcome this problem, but my question is, why I have to go and look for an app in the first place for such a simple preference?
     
  4. bigboy99 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Location:
    Deep in the Heart of Tejas
    #4
    On my PBG4 it now appears to be an automatic function based on the tracking speed set in Sys Prefs. If I have the track pad speed set to Fast I can move edge to edge with about 3/4 inch of movement if I move fast. Even with the setting at medium which gives much more detail if the movement speed is slow I can go edge to edge in about 50% of the track pad area if I move quickly. Similar results with a Kensington Bluetooth mouse.
     
  5. Gary King macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    #5
    This is the EXACT same problem that I have. It feels completely weird when I switch back and forth between my Windows and my Mac. I know that the problem is related to my Logitech mouse, though, because when I switch to a Mac mouse, it works fine.
     

Share This Page