Why no Quadro 4500?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Fuzzy Orange, Aug 29, 2006.

  1. Fuzzy Orange macrumors 6502

    Fuzzy Orange

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #1
    I was looking on Apple's website to see if they offered the Quadro separatly from the BTO option when buying the mac pro. To my surprise, they didn't offer it. They offer the ATI X1900XT, so why not offer the Quadro? I don't think I can, but is it possible to buy the Quadro from Newegg or something along the lines of that?
     
  2. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #2
    Apple doesn't offer a whole heck of a lot of cards as OEM kits.

    And based on the cost of the Quadro, and the limited number of Mac Pros sold -- don't expect Nvidia to offer it retail either.
     
  3. Daedalus256 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #3
    I'm trying to think...I know there are (obviously) Quadros on Newegg, however I'm not sure if they'd work.

    Chances are since the new macs run on x86, x86 hardware in general should work but who knows really. You could always order one on newegg and if it doesn't work just return it, newegg's return policy is awesome.
     
  4. scorpion151 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #4
    go get that otehr card that supposed to be like it (7800?) and just turn it in to the quadro... get mess with it a little and save yourself a few thousand... get the drivers of thepriratebay or soemthing... all that card really is , is the drivers.
     
  5. Lollypop macrumors 6502a

    Lollypop

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    #5
    I dont know why there is no Quardo for the Mac Pro, but you cant just use any quadro in the macs, besides drivers wouldnt the card also have to sport compatibility with EFI based systems?
     
  6. stevo86 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Location:
    Newfoundland, Canada
    #6
    they're probably not selling it in a kit because most professionals that will even buy the card will just get it BTO anyway. They might sell a grand total of like 4 cards after in retail kits which clearly wouldn't be worth it. People know if they'll be needing the Quadro when they buy the computer.
     
  7. ampd macrumors regular

    ampd

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #7
    I would have to say that since I viewed the mac pro as being the most expandable and customizable mac yet, that apple would release an OEM kit to add the quadro in at a later time. I really hope that they offer it as there are always people who might want to go that direction at a later time.
     
  8. Fuzzy Orange thread starter macrumors 6502

    Fuzzy Orange

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #8
    Exactly what I was thinking. What if someone doesn't need the Quadro right now, but would like the idea of it being available on Apple's website?
     

Share This Page