why should i buy a macbook?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by ohmyjibbonjones, Oct 9, 2006.

1. ohmyjibbonjones macrumors newbie

ok so im new to this site and a complete newb to the world apple (the only apple gadget i have is an ipod) and i was thinking of buying a macbook,ive heard that mac's are a lot safer than conventional pc's/laptops and they offer great free programmes in theyre operating systems (garage band etc),but one thing that is really putting me off them is compatabilty,i currently have a desktop and basiclly all i want to know is:-
    1.will things like microsoft office,anti virus software,files and other programmes work on the macbook
    2.could i share my current broadband connection with a pc and a mac?
    3.all my music are in mp3 format,will these still work?

im sorry if im not making sense here but im completly new to this kind of thing.

thanks

2. The Shady macrumors member

1) office for mac will do ur office stuff. other software needs to be purchased specifically for the mac. or, u could install xp on the macbook and run all ur usual software that way
    2) yes, macs and pcs can share broadband

3. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

Scarlet Fever

M$ make a version of Office for Mac. It's not native yet, so it doesn't run as fast as you might have expected. The universal version is due out sometime next year.

You dont really need AntiVirus stuff, because there are no viruses for Mac.

And yes, Macs can share broadband.

4. xJulianx macrumors 6502a

xJulianx

Mac's don't get viruses. You won't need to install any virus protection, nor will you have to worry about spyware and adware:)

5. pianodude123 macrumors 6502a

pianodude123

6. Butters macrumors 6502

MP3's and any other music format will work too

infact I'll just mention that practically any file you can open on windows will open in mac os x too except for .exe's

7. Donz0r macrumors 6502a