Why the h*ll did my insurance go up?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Agent Smith, Apr 6, 2006.

1. Agent Smith macrumors 6502

When I got home tonight, I got my insurance renewal letter, telling me that my annual car insurance went up by $360!!! I have never EVER been pulled over, nor have I ever gotten into an accident. It's my first car (2005 Accord coupe), and I've been driving for almost a year (end of May). It's not exactly going to break the bank, but still...:mad:

2. iGary Guest

iGary

I love being old. I pay that for a whole year. :p

3. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

WildCowboy

Staff Member

Call them up and ask them why it went up...they can tell you why. Mine went up 20% all of a sudden, and when I called they said that part of it was due to a general 10% increase in my area and the rest was a "good student" discount that disappeared because I was too old to qualify for it anymore (even though I'm still a student).

4. saabmp3 macrumors 6502a

Wow, you must live in the boonies.

:p

Ben

5. iGary Guest

iGary

Nope. Just over 35 clean record, insured with same company 9 years.

6. w_parietti22 macrumors 68020

How old are you? 17? Your insurance probabl went up becuase your young and insurance companies hate and love young drivers. Hate because they are more likely to get in an accident and love becuase they can charge outrageous rates.

7. xsedrinam macrumors 601

xsedrinam

I would definitely call them up and find out why. If the answer isn't satisfactory, shop and drop'em.

8. EricNau Moderator emeritus

EricNau

It went up because your insurance company wasn't making enough off of you. :rolleyes:

Insurance is wonderful.

9. Ish macrumors 68000

Ish

10. cyberddot macrumors 6502

cyberddot

Ahem...yep...though 14 years with the company and I live in the boonies. I'm still borrowing my car from the bank though, so I pay $350ish every 6 months for a low comp' deductable and good coverage.

11. jadekitty24 macrumors 65816