Why the need for Apple TV?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Rideherhard, Sep 14, 2010.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #1
    You need your computer on and you need to have it going through your computer, right? why not just hook your laptop to your AVR or TV and get the apple remote? wouldn't this be doing the exact same thing with less limitations?.
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Shoesy

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    Colchester, UK.
    #2
    I do not have a laptop. I like to use appletv.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #3
    Another thread on this? This is discussed in countless threads.

    Your computer only has to be running if you want to stream from it. Otherwise, it streams from the internet (TV show rentals, Netflix, etc)

    You might have multiple TVs in one house, and one media server. The AppleTV is used throughout the house, and you don't need a computer at each location.
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #4
    The new Apple TV does NOT require a computer. Only an iTunes account.

    It supports streaming media from your computer, but unlike the original Apple TV it does not require a computer to use it (as long as you can sign up for an iTunes account on a computer somewhere).
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    steviem

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    New York, Baby!
    #5
    My computer sits in my bedroom with a nice dual monitor setup. I'm not lugging it downstairs if I want to watch a show on the big tv.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #6
    So if you rent TV shows or movies from iTunes where does it store it?...
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #7
    It doesn't. Well, it probably buffers/stores some in onboard flash. But if you want to rewatch it within the rental period, it will redownload it if needed.
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    ovrlrd

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    #9
    EyeTV HD

    I have an EyeTV HD so when I rent a a movie on directv I can also record it.
    I can then export it to AppleTV format. Later I can replay it on the new ATV.
    Pretty simple for me. It's he only way to get this time limited media back on the big screen. :D
     
  10. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    La Jolla, CA
    #10
    But it does require a computer on if you want to watch anything you have stored on a computer or external hard drive.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #11
    Hey I don't want to start another thread so maybe someone can help me here?... is my internet speed any good?.


    download 1.73mb/s

    upload 0.30mb/s

    PING 17 ms
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    #12
    This is because it is hard to get to files on a computer when it isn't turned on :p
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    UnseenLlama

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #13
    That seems to be fairly slow for connections today, especially with services like Comcast internet. Are you on a DSL line? I tried switching out to that from Comcast, but found that the latency and speed was horrible.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #14
    Thanks. Yeah it's DSL, I thought it was on the slower side, I'll have to check into this.
     
  15. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    La Jolla, CA
    #15
    I am talking if the files are on an external drive hook up to an Airport base.
     
  16. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario
    #16
    It does require a computer if you want to stream stuff that you already have, where as the old version you could sync media over to the apple tv for later viewing, without a computer.

    But back on topic, my need/reason is AirPlay, and a nicer interface for streaming than my 360 or PS3.
     

Share This Page