Why turn off Indicator Lights for Apps?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by clank72, Jul 28, 2011.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    #1
    Many are excited about turning off the indicator lights on the dock. I'm just curious as to why?

    Seems you would have to keep track of all your opened programs that are using resources, running in the background?
     
  2. macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #2
    Personally I like them, but options are good.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
  4. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    #4
    Because Apple is trying to get people used to the idea of not worrying about whether an app is actually open or not, since in reality it makes little difference anymore, especially if you have 8GB+ of RAM and an SSD. I think Photoshop is the only app in my dock that takes more than once bounce to open on my iMac.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    hollerz

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Location:
    Durham, UK
    #5
    This. I have them turned off. I have no idea which of the apps in my dock are open. Neither do I care! :D
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    me_94501

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    #6
    I have the indicators on, mainly out of habit.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    #7
    I like the indicator lights. However the option to turn them off in Lion is a plus because it gives you a choice.
     
  8. macrumors 601

    petvas

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Location:
    Mannheim, Germany
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_5 like Mac OS X; de-de) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8L1 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I have them off too. All apps on my dock are running most of the time, so I prefer the cleaner look without the lights.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    #9
    I cant imagine why anyone wouldn't want them on, and I can't understand how so many people are excited about being able to turn them off.

    I suppose if all you do is browse the web its great. Otherwise, stop trying to decide whats best for me (and getting it wrong), Apple.
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    #10
    How is apple giving you an option like them trying to decide what's best for you? It's not like you're obligated to have it set a particular way - besides, your preferred setting in this case happens to be the default.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #11
    Well apparently, Apple has changed the memory management system of Lion. If you don't use an app for an extended period of time (not sure how long) it will actually release most of if not all of the memory it is using. That is why the dock indicator lights are off by default now in Lion.

    EDIT: Just checked my system. I have had iTunes open all day, but haven't used it in >6 hours. It is only using 30MB of memory compared to the usual 150MB-200MB it normally uses.
     
  12. macrumors 68020

    Comeagain?

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    #12
    My dock indicator lights were on when I downloaded Lion. I haven't touched that setting, and they are one right now.
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Ropie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #13
    I use my dock only to show the open applications - there is never anything on it that's not open so the light is just extraneous. I used to turn it off with Clear Dock but it's nice to have an option in the system too.
     
  14. macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    I like to have it on

    my most used apps are in the dock and I like to see what I have open, if I am not using an app then close it

    I use numbers twice a month so it is not in my dock, after I have used it I close it so it is removed from the dock as it's not needed

    don't see the point of having everything left running just incase you might want to use it
     

Share This Page