Why Washington Metro...

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by iGary, May 15, 2006.

1. iGary Guest

iGary

SUCKS:

So this afternoon, an un-named MR member and I decide to get together for a late lunch in Washington DC. I needed a break from the office and a chance to get out of the house, so today seemed like a perfect time.

I pulled up to the METRO station in New Carollton, where I have been boarding the train into Washington for oh, say 28 years now. I park my car in the lot, get my farecard for the exact to and from fare and off I went. I would normally drive, but decided I didn't want to look for parking and coordinate the meet up with said MR member.

On the way back to the station after eating, my dinner company informs me that I will need one of METRO's SmartTrip™ cards to get my card out of the lot. I confidently tell him that there were no signs to that effect and that I had parked my car in that lot for years.

So I get back to New Carollton on my puke-stained and aroma-de-pee scented train, and the turnstyle will not accept my farecard when I try to exit the station. I go to the station manager, who is more than a little annoyed by my mere existence and he takes my card and tells me to go through. I tell him that the card still has value on it (I wasn't expecting to be coming back on off-peak), so he acts as if I am asking him to lay in front of a train to give me a one-dollar refund.

I get out to my car, tuck my PowerBook in. buckle her up and head for the parking lot exit. I am promptly greeted by a litlle magnetic thing that I have to wave a SmartCard (which I will herein refer to as TardCard™) at to get out, so I back up my car, park it, and go to the station to buy a TardCard™. The little machine says $10.00 TardCard™ so I put my Visa in and it spits out this little credit card thingy with a microchip in it. Maximum parking fee for the day is $7.50, so I figure I'll be fine with $10.00.