Widgets not flipping - note even factory installed..

Discussion in 'macOS' started by mongushu, Mar 5, 2007.

  1. mongushu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    #1
    I just upgrade to a Macpro. I dont know if its somethign about the Intel version of os X, but None of my widgets do the animated flip-over. Not even the factory installed widgets. They just instantaneously, display the back side.


    I am developing a few widgets for a client. I want to know whats going on with my dashboard.

    I've searched all over many different boards, and googled the hell out of this topic. No results.

    MacRumors people, please help!!!!

    Anyone know?
     
  2. Mydriasis macrumors 6502

    Mydriasis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    #2
    Sounds like a graphics card or core image problem. Do they do the ripple effect?
     
  3. Daiden macrumors 6502a

    Daiden

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #3
    I've never seen this "flip" you're talking about, and I use a Macbook Pro, too. Is this a big problem?
     
  4. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #4
    I'm not sure if Core Image support is required for the flip effect (obviously the Mac Pro has it though, no matter what graphics card you get). I know I saw it on my PowerBook G4, which definitely didn't have Core Image support. I think it's a Quartz Extreme thing. Something ain't right.
     
  5. mongushu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    #5
    My widgets ripple when i add them to the dashboard.... But they wont "rotate". Theres no aniimation between the front side view and the backside.

    Anyone know whats up??
     
  6. Lixivial macrumors 6502a

    Lixivial

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Location:
    Between cats, dogs and wanderlust.
    #6
    Well, while I don't believe this will resolve your issue, you can try clearing out your ~/Library/Caches/DashboardClient folder and clearing your ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.dashboard.client.plist files

    Also, if you go to Apple Menu -> About this Mac -> More Info... -> Graphics/Display does it state Core Image, Quartz Extreme as being supported for any and all of your displays?

    Also, do you have Quartz Debug installed (part of the Developer Tools), where you can check to see if Quartz Extreme and Quartz 2D are enabled or disabled? And, finally, have you consoled /Applications/Utilities/Console.app to read the system and console logs for any errors related to Dashboard?

    Since you get the ripple effect, it's highly unlikely that any of these things will help to resolve, but it may help pinpoint what's happening.
     
  7. mongushu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    #7
    hey guys, thanks for the help....

    But im still in the dark here.

    I just got off the phone with apple. They had NO IDEA what the hell was going on. We went through the usual steps, removing prefs, restarting, setting up a new system account, testing there..... nothing worked. THey then asked That i wipe out my system and re-install.....ON ACCOUNT OF A WIDGET??@? heck no.

    So basically, they think that it was a bad system install.... That worries me, seeing as how this was the factory system install. I just got this machine.... wonder what other glitches are looming inmy system.

    so in the end, i'll have to assume that the widgets i develop are flipping, and just continue on my way until i absolutely need to re-install.
     
  8. Lixivial macrumors 6502a

    Lixivial

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Location:
    Between cats, dogs and wanderlust.
    #8
    It seems to me that it's indicative of something more problematic, it is most likely a framework corruption. You can probably update your system to 10.4.8, and then manually piecemeal the various frameworks/apps (Dashboard.app, and the Core frameworks) in from your original installer CDs using Pacifist. From there, you can download the 10.4.8 standalone updater, and extract those same frameworks to get you back in sync. The log files should give you some indication of what may or may not be crashing when Dashboard is running; it may be as simple as reinstalling Dashboard.

    Thing is that it's just simpler to do an "Archive and Install," which sounds like what Apple techs were trying to have you do and why it's so often recommended. I agree though, a reinstall of the OS should be a last resort in the event of catastrophe. Fortunately an "Archive and Install" is a fairly pain-free and mostly non-destructive process, and since it retains your old System directory, you can always move in any support directories that third party apps may need.

    Personally, no matter who the vendor is -- whether Apple or a PC OEM -- I always do a clean reinstall over the factory install right after I receive my hardware. That shouldn't be necessary either, but I feel more comfortable doing so.
     
  9. Daiden macrumors 6502a

    Daiden

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #9
    Honestly, I would do a fresh install. If there is a larger problem here (such as a hardware issue), it'd be better to catch it now while your Mac is under warranty. :)
     
  10. mongushu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    #10
    Bollucks!! :eek:

    looks like an archive and install for me. WIll post again If It turns out to be hardware....
     
  11. mongushu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    #11
    So, its been a month or two since the first post. I decided to ignore the widget thing for a while until i had the right moment ro erase and re-install my system.

    Last night. I had a kernel panic, after which my second display (a viewsonic DVI) stopped working. I tried everything. Resent PRAM, the whole bit. Then i decided, i might as well back up my stuff and do a clean install. I though maybe i'd be able to solve both problems at once..... get those widgets flipping, and get my second display to work again.

    However, after repairing the disk, after repairing the permissions, after a clean install, I STILL have both problems... the old widget problem (indicative of faulty hardware?) and the new issue of the non-functioning display.


    While on the phone with apple, (im still on the phone) I again reset my PRAM. When this failed to do the job, the technical support person asked me to boot from the install CD, and repair the disk and permissions once again, with her on the line. So i did. But when i got to the Disk Utility, my start-up drive had DISAPPEARED!!

    Now im on hold while she gets a product specialist. I figured i'd post while all this is fresh in my mind.... I know this community is rock solid, and someone out there might have some helpful information for me.


    I get the feeling though, that this machine is going to have to go back to apple for repair/replacement. Damn.... i had a perfect streak with apple. after 13 years, 7 apple computers, 1 iPod (yes, my second gen iPod still works without a hitch), I finally have to send something back to them. Apple was like my shiny white pair of sneakers, brand new, lookin-all-good, and now they got some dirt on em.... whatever. builds character.... right? :(
     

Share This Page