Widgets

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by XFce, Mar 19, 2006.

  1. XFce macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    California
  2. XFce thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #2
    I am a newbie Mac user and I love it.
    When you download widgets (directly from Apples website) dose it hog resources and is it safe for the computer ? I am very skeptical about downloading add ons off the internet because I’m afraid that I might download a widget that contains a virus, or spyware, and I don’t want to download or install anything that might harm my Mac.
     
  3. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #3
    Generally speaking, widgets don't cause all that much harm. Considering their abilities, they use up quite a lot of resources once they are loaded onto the system (mainly RAM) though. Having said that, widgets can break systems although this is extremely rare (because they're so simple) and usually easily fixed. :)

    Don't worry about getting a virus (or spyware) from a widget though. Just use a bit of common sense and you can't go too far wrong. :)
     
  4. XFce thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Thanks for the reply. I would not worry too much about catching computer viruses if Apple would have done the right thing and prevented M$ windows from being installed on Intel i Macs. But I’m going to assume that Apple cheeks widgets for spyware Before the people who make widgets submit them onto Apples website.
     
  5. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #5
    The speakings from the Mad One are usually wise ..but some sarcasm on the side free of charge ..:eek: :D :cool:

    Mad One = mad jew:eek: :p :D :cool:
     
  6. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #6
    Being able to install Windows on a Mac has nothing to do with being able to get viruses in OS X. There is absolutely no connection what so ever.
     
  7. Fearless Leader macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Location:
    Hoosiertown
    #7
    I completely agree. Just becuase I can install windows on my laptop that doesn't mean I'll get virus while I run linux.

    Also apple doesn't need to scan for viruses/spyware/yata... because theres only been 2-3 malicious porgrams in the history of the mac.:)

    ps- widgets have very little control of installing anything, on mac.
     

Share This Page