WiFi boosting

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Dagless, Jun 24, 2006.

  1. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #1
    Is it at all possible to boost a wifi signal from a router? just I've lived with a super-poor signal for the last 2 years and I want to do something about it. Ideally I want something that I can just plug into the wall between my computer and the router base.

    Does such a thing exist? I tried looking at Maplins but they only had larger aerials to try and boost the signal. I need more than that.

    cheers guys n gals.
     
  2. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    There are such devices available. Very few work, and all are quite dependant on what brand of router you have.

    Have you tried the usual stuff, like using a different channel? Channel 11 has always been the best for me. I get full strength signal from my Lynksys two floors up, on the other side of the house.
     
  3. Dagless thread starter macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #3
    thats what I was worried about. I was hoping there was a general "be-all end-all" wifi amplifier with zero config.
     
  4. someguy macrumors 68020

    someguy

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Location:
    Still here.
    #4
    Why can't you just use another router as a wireless client (repeater) to the existing network? I've worked in places with poor signal, pulled out my AirPort Express Base Station and problem solved. :)
     
  5. Dagless thread starter macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #5
    Ah, that would be pricey. My router costs £60 now and that's a little too much just in my books. Might try a new beefier aerial out, the one on the router is pretty tiny.
    I want the move the router to a central position in the house but the 2 desktops in the study are LAN connected (no wifi cards).
     
  6. AlBDamned macrumors 68030

    AlBDamned

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #6
    Have you considered a bigger aerial at both the desktop and the router ends?

    Had a similar problem at our flat and this helped a little bit.
     
  7. Dagless thread starter macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #7
    well. a firmware hasn't changed anything.

    sorry about bumping this. but I'm having the same problem still and googling "DS wifi boosting" brings up this thread. I've had some benefit from swapping channels over. from 6 to 10 I've had a huge improvement, but I'm still limited to sitting in the certain streamline of data from the router.
    some temp options include moving the router to a more central position in the house. this is going to lose the LAN internet connections to the downstairs PC's, but alas. Just temp until my family get back from their holiday.

    Also, the BT Voyager 2100 has a non-replaceable aerial so just a warning to those planning on a buying into a wireless network. So I (we're?) a little buggered there.
     
  8. drake macrumors 6502a

    drake

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    #8
    With my Linksys router (WRT54Gv3) I use firmware that allows me to boost the signal by 50%. Not that I need it.
     

Share This Page