Wifi connection NOT WORKING

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by toto156, Nov 23, 2005.

  1. toto156 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Location:
    New York NY
    #1
    The Facts:
    1 I have a G4 desktop with a airport card running Wireless Card Firmware Version: 9.52 and a G4 power Book woth a extreme airport card running all upgraded 10.4.3

    The Desktop get interent through a linksys concection the laptop pick up the same signal but does not connect to the internet.

    I have kismac and that is the best signal in the house.
    When I go it to the hallway 20 feet I get internet no problem 4 other open signals out there, close the door NOTHING!

    I have bought and returned a linksys extender ( did not work)

    I really need a solution.

    Can a antania work?
    Can I hook my laptop to my desktop and get internet that way through awireless network?

    What else could be done?

    All the best.

    TOTO
     
  2. nichos macrumors 6502

    nichos

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Fl
    #2
    So are you saying that you cant get internet from your router at all, even when close, or just when you go down the hallway? If it's the first one, something is misconfigured with your router. If you can't get a signal only about 20ft away, sounds like you're living in a bunker:) An antenna would help, and yes, you can do internet sharing with the PC. In XP it's called something like "create wireless network" or something.
     
  3. toto156 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Location:
    New York NY
    #3
    Reply

    Thanks for the reply
    I get it on the desktop G4 Mac but not on the laptop in the appartment.
    currently I get a signal but no internet.

    Now if I go in the hallway of my apt I get other signals and they work.


    I do not have acess to the Linksys base station.
     
  4. nichos macrumors 6502

    nichos

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Fl
    #4
    Sounds like the router isn't assigning you an IP for some reason. Maybe it's restricted by MAC address, limiting the number of IP's, who knows - you'd have to get in to the setup of that somehow. As for the windows machine, try doing the wireless network wizard-thingy. I think it's called create a wireless network in the network control panel - though I've never done it. I would imaging you need another network card. Good luck
     
  5. findpankaj macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    #5
    Wireless connection issue.

    if you have windows pc in your network then : -
    start -> run -> cmd
    type ipconfig
    copy Default gateway address
    open IE and type http://<address u copied above>
    router admin page will be open
    type ur password if any or keep it blank and enter
    go to wireless link on left(may be different on other routers).
    Increase the number of wireless channel number to a sufficient value.
    restart router.

    if looks like the router is not allocating ip address to your mac.
    try this.
     
  6. toto156 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Location:
    New York NY
    #6
    NO No, ONLY Runnig Apples Mac's

    the one that gets internet is running 10.3.9 G4 desktop with airport card
    The laptop is running 10.4.3 and has a extreme card.
    I think this has something to do with my problem.

    I have no acess to the router.
     
  7. Clix Pix macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
    #7
    I suspect that one thing that has to do with your problem is that the router (and therefore the actual connectivity) doesn't belong to you. ??? Am I right here, that you're hijacking a neightbor's wireless connectivity?

    If you want to be assured of being able to connect to the internet with both of your computers and to share files between your own machines, then I would suggest that you buy your own router.

    OTB
     
  8. toto156 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Location:
    New York NY
    #8
    Reply

    My friend is away for a few week.
    It is a web protect system so I would not have access if he did not give me the code.
    Anyway can I just contect the desktop to the laptop.

    Thanks for all your help.
     
  9. toto156 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Location:
    New York NY

Share This Page