Wifi internet doesnt work on windows 7

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Brunchies, Jan 10, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #1
    I'm going to cut to the chase. I have a 2009 27 inch Imac that has Snow Leopard on it. I installed Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit on it and it wont connect to the internet. It works perfectly in VMware fusion and all the other drivers work, just the internet wont. I have 3.1 and 3.2 installed which i know add support for 64 bit windows 7 but it still wont connect. I've uninstalled and reinstalled all the drivers, including the broadcom drivers seperatly at least five times and I'm lost. The network is recognized by Windows 7 but as "Other" with full strength signal. I try to connect and it asks me for my router name, I put it in and it says it cant connect. Troubleshooting comes up with unknown problem so i'm just about to resort to reinstalling all of windows 7. Any help on this would be appreciated. Sorry about bad spacing and writing, I don't use these forums that much.

    ----------

    Also I don't a wired connection near my computer, it's all the way where my router is, please help, I'm getting desperate.
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    #2
    try going to network settings/preferences and forget the network then try to connect again, the same thing happened to me when I changed some settings on my AEBS.
    hope it helps
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #3
    I tried it but it didn't really work, it now just go's to a straight "cannot connect" error. I tried this a couple of times and it still didn't work, any other suggestions please?
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #4
    Sorry for bumping, please help.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #5
    Bumping again, sorry for the trouble.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #6
    Bumped, I guess i'll just have to reinstall windows.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #7
    Problem is solved, I Feel like the biggest idiot in the entire world since it was so simple. I literally had to set authentication to shared in security settings. I had skyrim to fill my time so i dont really care, mods please close this thread. I'm so happy right now. Now my mac has everything, all the games and all the greatness of mac osx. Now its time for linux.
     

Share This Page