WiFi Problem

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Domenic182, Mar 11, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #1
    So I go to routers in WiFi settings and my router is definitely there, I click it, and put in the password and it connects perfect and everything. The iPod Touch is showing full bars for WiFi, but when I go to Safari, and every other application that needs internet the server cannot be found. Now I've tried restoring the iPod, I've tried taking all security off the router, I've done a lot of stuff. What's wrong?

    I'm on a 16gig iPod Touch, 1.1.4 with the software update.
    Linksys Router WRT45G
     
  2. McGiord, Mar 11, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2011

    macrumors 68040

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
    #2
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #3
    I've tried that, with no results :[
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #4
    Verify your touch has an ip/subnet/router/dns

    Home > Settings > Wi-Fi > (Your Network) >

    Verify the IP/Subnet/Router & DNS are correct.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #5
    Yessir I checked all that and it's all the same.
    This is a doozy!
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #6
    have you tried multiple sites? yahoo/google/msn/apple ? has it ever worked online ? what type of wireless router is it?
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    kde82.Linux

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    in Va
    #7
    Wireless Trouble?


    so I am guessing you have other PC or mac's at home that connect to the router. do thay have the same problem?
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    #8
    I had this problem - just make sure you are typing in the password correctly.
     
  9. McGiord, Mar 20, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2011

    macrumors 68040

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
  10. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    NH
    #10
    Yes, update the router firmware, which I had to do with my crappy Netgear. Additionally, if that doesn't work, unplug the router, count to 10, pray, plug it in, let it cycle and try connecting again.

    I found unplugging and cycling an Airport Express enabled me to connect my iPod touch to it. Good luck. :)
     
  11. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #11
    Updating the router accompanied with switching from a WPA to WEP worked like magic! Thanks fans!
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #12
    change wep encruption worked

    I had the same problem as described running a 2wire router. I changed the wep password from a 13 character ascii one to a 5 character ascii one (reducing encryption from 128bit to 64bit). works like a charm now.
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    kde82.Linux

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    in Va
    #13
    WEP to WPA/TKA


    NOW I first want to say this is my Personal mind set of how it should work. Please take it for face vaul.

    I personally would never very use WEP. it like inviting people to hack your Network.

    I have the 32gb Touch, Wii, Two Tvio's, two Laptop, and a HTC Mogule WM6, that all connect to my NETGEAR router. and I have a 15 chart Password for my WPA TKA code, plus locking down the Device to the MAC Address and hiding my SSH.

    I begging you to try to find my router and then hack pass my three Firewall configure house.

    long shorty for you DUD I am advising you to please DO NOT again DO NOT used WEP unless you want to turn into a "starbucks" where everyone can get your internet.

    thanks
    TUX
     
  14. macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #14
    Honestly, if someone wanted to hack your network it wouldn't be terribly difficult. Finding the "hidden" SSID and duplicating a MAC address of one of your devices can be done in 30 seconds or less with a very simple wifi scanning tool.

    Cracking the WPA(1 or 2) password can be done, although it might take some time, but honestly who the heck cares about hacking into your wireless network? Whether you use WPA or WEP, someone would likely need a reason to hack into your network rather than use an open network a few houses away.

    The only reason to use wireless security is to deter casual access to your network. If someone really wants in, ANY wireless network is a huge security risk. Whats much, much more important is the security on each device you're using.
     
  15. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    #15
    Well said - the only reason to really use encryption anyway. Unless you're a gov spy and have secret docs to far off lands and know many ppl you've had to 'off' cuz they knew too much... mwahahahahaha! okay, sorry. couldn't resist that one. :D
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    kde82.Linux

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    in Va
    #16
    Locking Down

    WOW thanks
     
  17. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #17
    I'm not really worried about anyone taking my internet. I live in a place where everyone has internet!
     

Share This Page