"WiFi" Sync

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by berkleeboy210, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    #1
    I was HIGHLY disappointed when I tried to Wirelessly Sync my iPad and my MacBook Air when I got the message "Must be plugged into power"....

    Kind of defeats the purpose doesn't it?

    And yes, they are both connected to the same WiFi and I've enabled it on my Mac.

    :mad:
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #2
    I like it. When I plug my phone in at night to charge, it syncs then.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Location:
    A Galaxy far, far away
    #3
    Wi-fi sync has the potential to severely drain your battery. Totally understandable.
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #4
    It will ONLY sync when your phone is connected to a power source, locked, and connected to wi-fi. I think the intention was for it to sync while you're sleeping, as mine does.

    My last update was performed automatically at 3:49am this morning. What's not to like?
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #5
    Seems like the way to go to me. My WP7 has wireless syncing so I let it sync when I plug it in at night.

    Sent from my Windows 7 phone using Board Express
     
  6. Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    #6
    Maybe a noob question but how do you activate this on your Mac? I can't seem to get it to work.
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    JRoDDz

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Location:
    NJ
    #7
    There is an option in iTunes "sync this device wirelessly" or something to that effect. you need the newest iTunes update.
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    rick snagwell

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    oceanside, ca
    #8
    on the summary page via iTunes when your device is plugged in. scroll down.
     
  9. Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    #9
    Got it. Thanks!
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    #10
    Hmm...I've upgraded everything, plugged my iPhone into my Mac and checked off the "Wi-Fi Sync" option. Unhooked it, went to my bedroom and connected it to a power source, double-checked that it's on the network and locked it.

    It's still not showing up in my iTunes.

    Any ideas?
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Location:
    Williamstown, NJ
    #11
    you don't need to be connected to a power source to sync
     
  12. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    #12
    Ok, it shouldn't matter if I am or not.

    I'm saying it doesn't show up in iTunes.
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    #13
    I have the sync over wifi box ticked and it was working fine. My Mac and iPhone would sync over the wireless network. But out of the blue the iPhone disappeared from the devices and now only shows when plugged into the USB. Any ideas?
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    #14
    This is essentially the same issue I'm having.
    I have turned off my airport card and back on again and the iPhone briefly came back before disappearing again.
     
  15. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #15
    I thought it was it needed to be plugged in for the automatic wireless sync. But you can sync manually without having it plugged in.

    Is it still this way? Or was that never true?
     
  16. macrumors 68000

    rorschach

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    #16
    You do not need to be plugged into a power source to sync wirelessly. It just won't sync automatically (like it does when you plug it in to your computer) if you aren't.
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    #17
    Yes. I have just turned off my wifi on my airport then back on again and my iPhone is now showing again in the devices. Will keep a look at to see if and when it disappears again.
     
  18. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Location:
    Williamstown, NJ
    #18
    restart itunes
     
  19. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    #19
    I don't think you understand what the issue is here.
    It's not appearing in iTunes whether plugged into a power source or not.
    Same with whether it's locked or not.
     
  20. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #20
    The OP said this:

    To most people that would seem like he is talking about having to have it plugged in.
     
  21. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    #21
    Mine doesn't need to be plugged in. I had to restart itunes to get it going, but it totally works. So much better!!!!!!!!!
     
  22. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    #22
    You're clearly not reading this thread. It's not even a big thread either.
     
  23. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    #23
    I'm having the same issue as above, everything is set correct but it doesn't show my iPhone on iTunes on my Macbook. :(


    EDIT: Nevermind, it works now for some reason
     
  24. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    #24
    I had to go through a couple of the steps mentioned here. Also...are there any settings to manually schedule when the wireless sync will happen?

    http://support.apple.com/kb/TS4062
     
  25. macrumors 68030

    Patriot24

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #25
    Manual Sync:

    General > iTunes Wi-Fi Sync > Sync Now

    No need to be plugged-in. I'm not sure what the big deal here is. Do you not have to charge your phone ever?
     

Share This Page