Wii Manual Scanned

Discussion in 'Games' started by sikkinixx, Nov 15, 2006.

  1. sikkinixx macrumors 68020

    sikkinixx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    Rocketing through the sky!
    #1
    Haven't seen this yet on here.

    1
    http://www.gametrailers.com/viewnews.php?id=3825
    2
    http://www.gametrailers.com/viewnews.php?id=3826
    3
    http://www.gametrailers.com/viewnews.php?id=3827
    4
    http://www.gametrailers.com/viewnews.php?id=3828

    Kinda gravy. Makes me wanna play one, or rather, play Zelda on one :D

    I must say, I find it a tad odd that their picture of a TV is of a nice big ass LCD tv...which can't be fully utlitlized since Wii isn't HD. Although it is better than seeing the dudes on 1up.com playing Zelda on a little 19" CRT TV....god man! geta decent sized tv!

    And the caption showing the overhead shot saying you need ample room around you is pretty funny :D They make it sound like you are about to bust out the aerobics
     
  2. aidanpendragon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #2
    This is great, thanks. Especially like the hitherto-unseen "console stand plate."

    Also noticed the bit on pg. 2 of 5 where it says the Wii will only work with Nintendo-branded AV cables. Did GC say the same thing? (marketing or true?) It also makes no mention of s-video out, giving composite as standard and component as the sole choice for "better video." ???

    EDIT: Page 5 is here: http://www.gametrailers.com/viewnews.php?id=3829
     
  3. dwishbone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    On the Moon
    #3
    the wii supports 480p and 16:9 widescreen and also has component output available. it is HD, just the low end of the HD spec. it falls somewhere between standard and high definition...Enchanced Definition Television. it's not quite HD, but still much better than standard definition TV.

    a bit odd that the s-video isnt mentioned, because i know i've seen those advertised already...and made by nintendo no less.
     
  4. NewbieNerd macrumors 6502a

    NewbieNerd

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #4
    No, 480p is ED, while 720p and above is HD. Not that it really matters because the Wii is still an awesome system with some awesome games on the way. Or if you are a PS3 fan( which I am also btw ), 1080p and above is HD accord to Sony, though perhaps they'll take that back when we see reports that 1080p isn't possible either. :p

    EDIT: Ignore me! I can't read! ;)
     
  5. dwishbone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    On the Moon
    #5
    ya. i was in the process of elaborating on my original posting just in case it was misunderstood.
    ya wii is gonna be a great system. my gamestop already has mine in the back of the store...but they wont let me have it no matter how bad i beg til sunday 12:00:01 am. punks.
     
  6. Haoshiro macrumors 68000

    Haoshiro

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Location:
    USA, KS
    #6
    Evidently you had some problems reading his post, he said ED... only he actually used the words instead of the acronym.

    He was simply referring to ED as the low-end of HD. Perhaps that is arguable, but he clearly knew it was ED. The point is that SDTVs don't support 480p, and the first TVs released that did 480p, and perhaps supported 720p downscaled to 480p, where classed/marketted as "HD TVs"

    In fact from a marketting perspective p = digital = "hd", even if that is entirely accurate.
     
  7. aidanpendragon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #7
    Would be very interested in hearing where.
     
  8. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #8
    Does this mean that the Wii only ships with composite video, no s-video, no component?
     
  9. NewbieNerd macrumors 6502a

    NewbieNerd

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #9
    yikes, you're right. Sorry dwishbone! My reading skills must need some major work!

    But yeah, we have an HD TV, honestly several of the ED TVs at BB and wherever looked a lot better for a lot of content, for whatever reason. Definitely no complaints out of me for Nintendo choosing the path they did with the Wii. Had they attempted to compete performance-wise with MS and Sony, not only would things have been very dull, everyone would pretty much just decide to pick one out of the three major consoles. Now it's just a matter of choosing between the PS3 and the 360 to complement the Wii, if you even care about the first two!
     
  10. Ja Di ksw macrumors 65816

    Ja Di ksw

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    #10
    I have a large research proposal that I need to finish and turn in, due in less than 2 hours, and now I'm reading this.

    I hate you.

    And thank you :).
     
  11. dwishbone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    On the Moon
    #11
    i cant find the nintendo one right now...but i know ive seen it.
    but i did find the unofficial one from madcatz.
    http://www.gamestop.com/product.asp?product_id=802519

    but if you go to nintendo's official website it verifies what i said...

    http://wii.nintendo.com/hardware.html

    it lists for video output
    "Output: an AV Multi-output port for component, composite or S-video"
    the official Nintendo store hasn't been updated for the Wii yet it appears. They may be only selling it online, and locally at Best Buy, Gamestop, and Circuit City...like they are the Component Cables.
     
  12. BengalDuck macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    #12
    It looks like so much fun. I have my heart set on a 360 but if I get a good job I'll be buying this, too!
     
  13. paddy macrumors 6502a

    paddy

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Location:
    TN
    #13
    Being a poor student I'll being playing Zelda on a 14" CRT. :eek:
     
  14. RoxStrongo macrumors regular

    RoxStrongo

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Location:
    Bournemouth, UK
    #14
  15. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #15
    Fingers crossed, but if they a region locked it looks like they are going to be fussy over what cables they supply to each region (much like the cube).

    After all it would make little sense for them to release and RGB Scart lead for the USA or Japan where S-Video is the main standard, and in Europe it's vice versa...

    As long as Component makes it this time round to Europe i'll be happy.
     
  16. RoxStrongo macrumors regular

    RoxStrongo

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Location:
    Bournemouth, UK
    #16
    i just really want s-video because a scart is no good when you have a seperate amp.
     

Share This Page