wii on a cinema display?

Discussion in 'Games' started by bookworm182, Nov 11, 2006.

  1. bookworm182 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
    #1
    Hey everybody, I'm sorry if something similar to this has been posted already, but looking through the forums, I couldn't find an answer. So, my question is, can I hook up a Nintendo Wii to my 23" Cinema Display? I'd like to use the component cables, and some kind of component to DVI adaptor, but I don't even know if that's possible. Does anyone have a setup like this, or have any ideas on how to do this? Thanks!
     
  2. marioman38 macrumors 6502a

    marioman38

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    #2
  3. suneohair macrumors 68020

    suneohair

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    #3
    Component to DVI isn't going to work. ACDs only accept a digital signal or DVI-D, so you can't input analogue.

    The eyetv will work, but as someone noted it will be composite so you can't do 480p.

    I am going to be picking this up: http://www.gefen.com/kvm/product.jsp?prod_id=4173

    It is pricey but I think it will be useful. I am going to run a 360 with vga->dvi and the wii through component.
     
  4. Sinsinnati macrumors regular

    Sinsinnati

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #4
  5. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #6
    Could you enable Progressive Scan in EyeTV though? or would that create latency issues? I mean my TV is being pumped through at 576i and upscaled to 576p.
     
  6. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    An Elgato EyeTV Hybrid is what you want. You won't get progressive scan though although as far as I can tell no USB/Firewire TV card on the market will give you that right now.
     

Share This Page