Will 2gb of Ram Make a Huge Difference?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by berkleeboy210, Aug 9, 2005.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    #1
    Ok guys,

    I just bought 2gigs of ram for my 15" PB and another 2gigs of ram for my powermac g5 online through macsales.

    Will I notice a huge difference in speed once I do this?

    I'll be maxing out the powerbook, and the g5 will have a total of 2.5gigs.
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    me_94501

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    #2
    Hoe big a difference you notice will depend largely on what you are doing. If you're doing heavy graphics/video/audio work, you'll really notice it. If all you're doing is using your Mac as a glorified typewriter, the extra RAM has less of an impact.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    #3
    i'm using Garageband, Logic Express, final cut express, Finale, and Reason.

    Those are just some of the music/video apps i work with. I shouldn't notice any lag w/ that amount of ram should i?
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    Running Final Cut Pro on my PowerBook is painful! I guess it's because I tend to work with super-high resolution video (I don't actually know what I'm doing, I just work on the "bigger is better" principle).

    GarageBand runs flawlessly... but that's not really saying much.

    I'm yet to max out Logic. I use a lot of software samplers when I'm working on orchestral compositions and I've never noticed any slowdown.

    I didn't find that adding RAM made my PowerBook any faster. It did, however, make it seem a lot smoother. But I guess speed is a matter of interpretation.

    I get a lot of satisfaction out of the knowledge that I can't add any more RAM :eek:... which, sadly enough, is worth investing in that second GB.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    #5
    Thanks for the Replies.

    Maybe I should just get a gig for my PB, and then get more for the G5?
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #6
    Wait... you actually have super-high resolution source material, or you just throw DV into HD timelines? :eek: :confused:
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    #7
    A little off topic, Sorry. But once I was doing some editing in iMovie HD, and after i imported my video. It said it was "Pillaring?". It took forever. Can someone clarify on what Pillaring means.

    thanks.
     

Share This Page