will 512 be enough?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ero87, Mar 20, 2006.

  1. ero87 macrumors 65816

    ero87

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #1
    My girlfriend just ordered a MBP with the stock 512 MB RAM. For basic usage (Safari, ichat, MS Office, itunes, etc.) do you think this will be okay? Should we consider upgrading the RAM?
     
  2. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    Yes. I would go with a 1gb upgrade as RAM prices for that are pretty good. And that you won't have to worry in the future about upgrading again (that is why 1gb would be better than a 512 upgrade).
     
  3. menziep macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    #3
    That will do ok but i would recoomend upto 1gb
     
  4. ero87 thread starter macrumors 65816

    ero87

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #4
    and what "kind" would we get? Is there a specific store/price/kind?
     
  5. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #5

    upgrade the ram yourself it'll be cheaper than apple $$

    check here or here if your in US :eek:

    here for the brit folk
     
  6. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #6
    www.crucial.com

    That site has a menu that will tell you exactly what you need. And they are a great source for more RAM.
     
  7. menziep macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    #7
    yer i have my pc using them

    there great
     
  8. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #8
    A half-gig is plenty for most applications, including the ones you list. Upgrade to more RAM if you can afford it, but not only isn't it a necessity, keep in mind that a very substantial percentage of Mac problems are traced to bad RAM, so every upgrade is a bit of a risk.

    Either way, remember to reboot the Mac every so often (once a week is a good minimum), to clear out the virtual memory swap files that will accumulate no matter how much physical RAM you've got installed. The swap files are the source of general system slow-downs, not a lack of RAM per se.
     
  9. coachingguy macrumors 6502a

    coachingguy

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Location:
    The Great White, Albeit Frozen North
    #9
    512 RAM...No...

    I don't think 512 is enough anymore. The performance boost from upgrading both my iBook and iMac G5 to a gig or more was awesome! I tend to have a lot of apps open and with 512 I saw the Beach Ball of Bordom too many times. If you tend to just have one or two apps open, you might be able to cut it with 512, but you won't be able to really make use of all your machines capabilities.

    Just my 2¢ worth.

    Coachingguy
     
  10. exeterbohemian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    brooklyn
    #10
    when the bottom ram slot in my rev. d powerbook failed and i was running on 512 mb i noticed a significant lack of perfomance. fortunately applecare took care of it for me and replaced the logic board. that said, i couldn't conceive of ever running with just 512. i think os x is best suited with at least 1 gb.
     
  11. XIII macrumors 68040

    XIII

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #11
    MS Office.. under Rosetta, it seems to want more than 512mb of RAM.
     
  12. turbopants macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago
    #12
    You'll be ok with 512, but as others have said, a bump up to 1gb will make your computing experience much better.
     
  13. devilot Moderator emeritus

    devilot

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #13
    I know I'm a voice of dissenting opinion but

    I still feel like each user should try using the machine as is for awhile before deciding up upgrade RAM.

    I honestly think that some users don't need more RAM. I'm doing totally fine on my iBook w/ only 512MB. But on my iMac I have 1GB. Just let your girlfriend try using her MBP with 512MB for a bit.
     
  14. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #14
    I'd agree that 512MB would be absolutely fine for most people if the machine is PowerPC or if its an Intel machine and only universal binary programs will be used. However, Rosetta eats RAM for breakfast so I'd recommend people to get 1GB on any Intel machines for the moment. Once Office is universal I'd say people like the user in question for this machine would be absolutely fine with 512MB.
     
  15. Zaty macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #15
    I second that, apps running in Rosetta need more RAM. If you have already spent $2000 on a MBP, you should spend a few more bucks for an upgrade to 1 GB and you will get a machine with a much better price/performance ratio.
     
  16. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #16
    FWIW, I'm in your camp. I don't know about Rosetta's RAM appetite but I do know that the "you need as much RAM as you can afford" argument is a lot like saying "you can't be too rich or too thin." It does help to know how much performance you really need. I work every day on a much slower Mac than a MBP, and don't have any complaints about the performance.

    The bottom line for me is, not everybody is a geek who needs or wants to squeeze every ounce of performance out of their computers. Some people people, you know, just, like, use them. Hard to believe, but true!
     
  17. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #17
    This is mine on a core duo mac mini:
    Code:
    PhysMem:   267M wired,  877M active,  858M inactive, 1.96G used, 26.2M free
    VM: 17.8G +  153M   284352(0) pageins, 162215(0) pageouts
    my comp used to be ridiculously slow on 512mb, but after an upgrade to 2gb, things are smooth as butter. I think you should go for 1gb in that MacBook.

    Rosetta does eat up memory for breakfast, indeedy.

    And if you're in the US, use crucial to figure out what kind of RAM you need to get, then get it elsewhere. Newegg had the same exact crucial ram for $20 cheaper for me, and often there were cheaper (and still good quality) brands of ram (think half the price of crucial) that work, just check the reviews and make sure the ram works with your macbook.
     
  18. jadekitty24 macrumors 65816

    jadekitty24

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    The poor section of Connecticut
    #18
    I originally had 512 in my Powerbook 1.5 GHz and I was beachballing a lot. I ran the usual, Camino and iTunes always open, occassionally Eye TV or Photoshop. Nothing crazy, and never more than 4 apps at a time. Once I went to 1.25 GB ram I noticed a difference. But like suggested, I would use it for a while and then make your decision. That's what I did and while getting more ram wasn't necessary it certainly helped.
     
  19. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #19
    Whenever I get a beach ball problem, I reboot. It goes away.
     
  20. bobber205 macrumors 68020

    bobber205

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #20
    I used to think they were great, but after a few years of not ordering from them, my dad and I did again.

    TWICE we had to send back two DIFFERENT orders because the RAM we got didnt' work the first time.

    :(
     
  21. jadekitty24 macrumors 65816

    jadekitty24

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    The poor section of Connecticut
    #21
    Yeah, I would do that and a few minutes later I would run into the same problem. Call me dumb but I would still recommend to buy as much ram as you could afford. I also take into account that in the future I may be running applications that will require a bit more ram than a normal user would need.
     
  22. trogdor! macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #22
    It will always run with 512 just fine. But it will run even better with a gig or more.
     

Share This Page