Will a 2x512MB + 2x1GB configuration enable quad channel?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Chone, Dec 26, 2006.

  1. Chone macrumors 65816

    Chone

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #1
    Or do I need all 4 sticks to be the same size?

    Thanks a bunch, there used to be a neat chart someone posted here sometime ago, where is that?

    By the way this is for a mac pro.
     
  2. thebeephaha macrumors 6502

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle WA
    #2
    Don't you mean dual channel?

    I didn't think there was a quad channel memory controller chipset yet.

    And theoretically it should. But I think you need to have them in certain slots.

    Then it would do like 1GB + 256MB as one channel and 1GB + 256MB in the other channel.
     
  3. Demon Hunter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #3
    I'm not sure it's called "quad channel" but it does support a 256-bit-wide memory architecture.
     
  4. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #4
    Yeah its quad channel. It has 4 memory channels. But yes this would work just fine.
     
  5. gammamonk macrumors 6502a

    gammamonk

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #5
    My understanding is that to achieve quad channel, you need 4x identical sized chips in the appropriate slots. You have 8 slots, so I'd just get 8x512 and have 4gigs.

    You'd have to ask CanadaRAM to be sure about that tho.
     
  6. nitynate macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    #6
    Yeah, 8x512 sounds better.

    And Cheaper me thinks.
     
  7. WildPalms macrumors 6502a

    WildPalms

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    #7
    You'll need equally sized ram sticks or bank switching will kill your performance. Just pick a total ram size you can afford/need and divide by 4 (if possible)
     
  8. Schroedinger macrumors regular

    Schroedinger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #8
    Did a bunch of research on this for my own mac pro. Your setup will work just fine. If you go with 2x512 + 2x512 + 2x512 this will be slightly slower than 2x512 + 2x1024. this is b/c there are 4 channels, so if you have six sticks, 4 will end up sharing two of the channels. If you double up the stick itself (1024 instead of 512) this isn't a problem.
     
  9. slughead macrumors 68030

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #9
    By the way, quad channel sucks.

    It does not significantly improve performance. Look up the benchmarks on it.
     
  10. Demon Hunter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #10
    Link please? :)
     

Share This Page