Will a corporate cd work?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by excalibur313, Mar 25, 2006.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    excalibur313

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    #1
    This may seem like a weird question but I have a intel mac with work and I know that my work buys a site license for XP pro SP2 but it is a corporate cd. Is it different enough to make a difference in making the cd required for installing it on the intel mac?
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    homerjward

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Location:
    fig tree
    #2
    afaik the only difference between corporate and regular is corporate has no activation. of course, i'm not sure of the legality of such a thing.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    jamesmcd

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #3
    Yep I installed from a SP2 Corporate CD. Worked perfectly and no activation, like the previous user said.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    biohazard6969

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Location:
    toronto canada
    #4
    do you think it coudl be done with virtual PC install discs? i know its a long shot but thats all that i have at the moment....
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    biohazard6969

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Location:
    toronto canada
    #5
    does anyone have any idea? i need to know if i'll have to go out and buy XP or not because i really wnat to do this
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    excalibur313

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    #6
    So the VPC cd has VPC and windows xp? How is it set up on the cd? Is there a way you can extract only the windows files to the hard drive to alter an reburn?
     
  7. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #7
    The Windows CD that comes with VPC is not bootable. However, the Mac patch *may* get around this as it uses Mac boot files.
     

Share This Page