Will Airport Express slow down an Airport Extreme network?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Steven Jackson, Feb 15, 2007.

  1. Steven Jackson macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Location:
    Lincoln, U.K.
    #1
    Hi,

    I've just bought the Airport Extreme and will be using it to wirelessly connect an iMac to the Internet. I now have a left-over Airport Express. I'm thinking of putting it in the kitchen so that I can use AirTunes to stream music from the iMac...

    However, if I do this, will it slow my network from N speeds to G speeds? If so, will the slowdown occur all the time, or only when I'm actively using Airport Express to stream the music?

    This is all probably terribly basic, but I don't know a lot about networking...

    Cheers,

    Steve.
     
  2. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #2
    If you connect a B device to an existing G net, the speed in the entire G network will downscale to B speed.

    Apple states that "Speed and range will be less if an 802.11a/b/g product joins the [N] network". But I don't know how far down it will scale. I guess (or rather hope) that the N standard (or pre-N) is a bit more intelligent than the G standard was, but I'm not sure I'll bother reading the N draft just to find out... ;)

    Anybody out there actually read the N draft?
     
  3. joshwest macrumors 65816

    joshwest

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    #3
    Does this apply if you have your New Airport Broadcasting N at 5 ghz, and you have your airport express w/AT hanging off the back broadcasting b/g in bridge mode?
     
  4. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #4
    That's what I did. Plug your airport express in via ethernet, setup bridge mode, and have a dual-band network to get the maximum speeds for all of your devices.
     
  5. joshwest macrumors 65816

    joshwest

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    #5
    K thanks Night Storm, one last question. what would happen if you unplugged your AEw/AT would it only be used to broadcast music to a audio device or could u set it up as a repeater and just broadcast b/g?
     
  6. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #6
    I'm sorry, I'm not exactly sure what you are asking. If you mean unplug the ethernet cable, then you would have to reset the Airport Extreme to be b/g/n compatible, and you'd cut your n-speeds in half.
     
  7. joshwest macrumors 65816

    joshwest

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005

Share This Page