Will Airport Express work with Linksys Router?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by edward-k, Dec 25, 2004.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    #1
    I currently have a linysys wireless router. I would like to add an airport express in our living room for two reason, 1) to extend the range of the wireless in other areas of the home 2) hook it up to the family stereo. I asked someone in the local apple store and the only thing they would say is that it works with the airport base station, could not comment on what else it could work with. Thanks in advance for any help. Happy Holidays to all.
    Ed
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    #2
    The Apple Airport Express will only act as EITHER a WAP OR a media broadcaster without the Apple Airport Base Station.

    I have a PowerBook G4, an Airport Express, and a Linksys Wireless Router. I currently have the Airport Express plugged into the router via an ethernet cable so that it can act as a functioning WAP as well as being able to broadcast from iTunes. However, if I unplug the Airport Express from the ethernet and put it in, say, the living room, so as to broadcast iTunes, I will have to choose between either my internet connectivity (the Linksys Router) or broadcasting over the Airport Express for playing music. The Airport Express, so far as I've seen, cannot act as a signal booster in conjunction with the Linksys Router (whilst unplugged from the Linksys Router via an ethernet cable), but it can act as a WAP by itself, and seems to have fairly decent reception.

    In order for the Airport Express to retain the dual-functionality that you want, you'll need an Airport Base Station. Oh, how clever Apple is.
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    wPod

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #3
    yes it should work. ther are numerous hacks for linksys routers to allow for WAS. with WAS enabled you can extend the wirless network as well as use all the normal functions of the express. go to linksysinfo.org to find the hacked firmware for your specific router.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    #4
    Thanks Axeon- I would switch to the Airport base station in a second if it had more than one wired lan port. between a few pc's w/o wireless and xbox I need at least 4 wired ports. Thanks again for your help. Ed
     
  5. macrumors 68030

    jared_kipe

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #5
    Definitely, I can't believe apple still charges $200 for a 802.11g station with only one wired lan port and nothing else to really speak of.
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    spaceballl

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #6
    Yeah there are hacks to make it work. I would use those. I have a linksys cable modem, router, and signal booster... No way I would pay an Apple premium for a product inferior to that of competitors. I just got a new printer and I LOVE how it plus right into my linksys router. I couldn't survive with an AE base station. I have an old iMac, an XBOX, a printer, and networked storage all plugged into the router. What a pain in the butt to try and do that with the AE base statoin.
    -Kevin
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #7
    The answer is yes. Just follow the link:

    http://ryanschwartz.net/2004/08/05/airtunes-airport-express-and-the-wrt54g
     
  8. macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #8
    Which Linksys router do you have? I'd be interested in a router with print serving capabilities (other than the Airport).

    Thanks.
     
  9. macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #9
    My guess is his/her printer has ethernet connectivity.
     
  10. macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #10
    I'm using the AirPort Express w/ a LinkSys BEFW11S4 over 802.11b and it works as expected.
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Location:
    West Mids, UK
    #11
    I'm thinking about an airport express, but can you 'rebroadcast' to it from an iTunes share? I have all my music on my Windows PC, and listen to it with my PowerBook downstairs - would I be able to stream music to an Airport express like this?
     
  12. macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #12
    Yes. Airtunes is just another way of saying remote speakers for iTunes. Whatever you can hear on your computer with iTunes, you will be able to hear on speakers connected to the Airport Express.
     
  13. macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #13
    Yes. iTunes' internet radio stations will work over the AirPort Express, as well.
     

Share This Page