Will Airport Extreme Act As A Router?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by macmanpro, Feb 18, 2007.

  1. macmanpro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    #1
    Hi Folks,

    I have wired my new house with Cat 5e and have a gigabit switcher together with a linksys wireless router which is driving me crazy! Sometimes it works fine other times it takes me half an hour to get online and it's all to do with the router. I've tried talking to the MUNCHKINS at linksys and to be honest I'm now willing to cut my losses. I've explained my problems so many times that I'm losing the will to live I can't take any more "that is a great workaround sir" when in fact I'm trying to explain that their last solution didn't actually work:eek: ! And just so you know yes English is my first tongue:) . So anyway my question: If I get an Apple Airport Extreme Base Station will it allow me to share my broadband connection with all of the Macs in the house using wireless for laptops and does it have am ethernet connection that I can use with my switch?

    Thanks a million and greetings from Ireland!
     
  2. rogersmj macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #2
    "Will AirPort Extreme act as a router?"

    It IS a router.
     
  3. Americanloti macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    #3
    Yes, it does. The Airport is both a router and an access point. It a bult-in 3-port switch which unfortunately is only 100mbit, but since you have a gigabit switch you should be all set. It also has a USB port where you can plug either a printer or a external HD, but if you plan to implement some sort of network storage you will suffer the lack of gigabit. Hope this helps.
     
  4. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #4
    the Airport extreme basestation is a router. just Apple's version. it has one Wan and one Lan port. and one USB port.

    be warned however, it the Ethernet ports on it are not gigabit i believe, so if you do a lot of in-network file sharing you won't get the absolute best speeds with it i believe.
     
  5. adav macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    #5
    The new airport extreme has one WAN and three LAN ports. Dunno what i corrected this, I must be in a pedantic mood, sorry :D .
     
  6. Gee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    Wow Macmanpro - your 4th post since Dec 2001! Come here often? :)
     
  7. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #7
    ah thanks for the correction. i must've been thinking of the older one. :eek:
     

Share This Page