Will An iPhone Bought In The USA Work in the UK?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Bazzy, Jun 22, 2009.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #1
    Hi All,

    I have my UK mobile phone contract with Orange who do not offer the iPhone. I do not really want the hassle of changing companies but also do not want to be tied into a 24 month contract with anyone else! I would like an iPhone and was wondering if I bought one from the USA, would it work in the UK? Is there any advantage to this or would the costs still be prohibitive? I just would like everything Apple if possible so my life can flow that little but easier!

    Sorry to ask this as well, but will cordless home phones bought in the USA also work in the UK?


    Bazzy
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    #2
    It will not work . US iPhones are Locked to Att.
     
  3. macrumors G4

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #3
    IF you unlock it, yes it will work on any GSM system. All iPhones are "World Phones," and have GSM radios for all 4 common GSM freqs.

    Right now you can unlock the 2G and 3G. The s/w for the 3GS, Ultrasnow, is having issues, but should be up soon. Check out the iPhone Dev Team blog for more deets.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    coolwater

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #4
    Then, can you unlock it and lock it again? I mean, can you bring your iPhone to overseas trip and lock it back to AT&T once you get back?
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #5
    There are two issues here - the power supply and the landline connection.

    The telephone signal itself ought to be electrically compatible, but the phone jack has a different physical layout and you'd need an adaptor.

    The power grid in the UK has a different voltage and frequency than in the USA. If your wireless telephone power supply has markings saying it's compatible with 50-60 Hz and 100-240 VAC, then it's a universal power supply and all you'd need is a physical adaptor to fit UK-style plugs.

    Otherwise, you'll also need a universal transformer/inverter that takes the UK-style plug, frequency and voltage as an input, and provides a US-style plug, voltage and frequency as an output. Alternatively you could acquire a replacement power supply that plugs directly into the UK power grid and produces the low-voltage DC power your phone actually uses.
     
  6. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #6
    All unlocking does is let you use other SIMs; it doesn't affect your AT&T SIM. Assuming you have an unlocked 3G, pop in a UK SIM and when you return just put your ATT SIM back in. There is no real reason to lock it again.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #7
    This UltraSn0w confuses me somewhat. Is it the case that there is actually a method for unlocking the 3GS? Or just the 2G and 3G. I was under the impression that as it's a new chip, it generally takes a while to figure out?
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    B737

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    #8
    I don't think chupa chupa is fully correct...

    I understand dev-team blog properly, redsn0w will only unlock a 2G iPhone. Ultrasn0w will unlock iphone 3g.

    Read the paragraph in the dev team blog right above the text:
    "SHA1 SUMS"

    I forgot I can paste w my phone now! Edit:
     

Share This Page