Will an unlocked iPhone lock itself to the first sim card?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Pivoh, Nov 7, 2012.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    #1
    I have been trying to find an answer for this, apologize in advance if this has been discussed already, but I just purchased a " device only " iPhone5 at the apple store.

    I would like to activate it, but I am afraid it will lock itself to AT&T when I enter my sim card , is there any risk ?

    thanks in advance for any help.
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #2
    factory unlocked iPhones stay unlocked forever (unless someone from apple locks it haha)
     
  3. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3
    If its unlocked and purchased device only full price then it will never lock to any carrier and will work with any gsm sim.
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #4
    My iPhone 5 had a bad home button and they gave me a replacement. When I got it home I restored it to my last backup and it forced me to carrier lock it....which means, I guess it was unlocked.
     
  5. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    I dont get it.
    What do you mean it forced you to carrier lock it?
    The lock or unlock has nothing to do with the backup file or wether you restore from backup or setup as new.
    The unlock comes from Apples activation server.
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #6
    It was activated in the store and working fine. I got home and restored it and it came up with a screen I had never seen. It said, which carrier will this phone be activated on, I had to pick Verizon and it said, be sure this is correct as it can not be undone.
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    adcx64

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Cudi Zone
    #7
    I can confirm that. My iPhone asked me which carrier to use and I chose verizon.
     
  8. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    That's not a carrier lock.
    It just asked you what carrier will you use it on.
     
  9. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #9
    Than why did it say this selection can not be changed?
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Location:
    @TheRoyalDoctor
    #10
    Pretty sure that is the carrier lock...
     
  11. macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #11
    you can put an att sim in your iphone and it will work. You can take it out and put a tmobile sim in and it will work. You can reinsert the att and it will work again with att

    you can switch sims all day long
     
  12. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #12
    From what I heard from Apple if its a verizon replacement and they enter all the info like previous imei/esn number even if you picked sprint or VM it wouldn't lock to them.
    It will still be locked to verizon and every verizon i5 is officially unlocked to work with any gsm carrier.
     

Share This Page