Will any mac last you three years?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by jefhatfield, Feb 3, 2003.

1. jefhatfield Retired

Jul 9, 2000

Or is Apple just stringing us along with tiny, incremental updates not worthy of you pros and high end gamers?

ps- don't ask me...since this post is all i will ever tax my machines for:p
  2. springscansing macrumors 6502a

Oct 13, 2002
    New York
    It's Moto stringing you along, not Apple. Yeesh.
  3. marcsiry macrumors member

Jul 16, 2002
    Depends on what you do.

If you're a true power user, you reach a point where they benefits of upgrading outweigh the costs of getting a new machine. This is assuming you are getting paid to work on your Mac.

I make my living with my Mac, and I find myself upgrading about every two years. It just doesn't make sense to chug along on an older machine when there's something eight times faster out there... not that the old machine is suddenly nonfunctional, it's just that you can get stuff done better and faster with a new one.

I still see plenty of people working on Macs that are 5+ years old. In most cases, they are also working with older software- Photoshop 5, Quark 4, etc- that doesn't have the same memory and speed requirements that their modern counterparts do. At some point, those people will also have to make the same cost benefit analysis- but I personally believe it's a false economy to put off upgrading for the sake of economy if your livelihood depends on your machine.

My personal upgrade path went something like this:

1991: Mac IIcx
    1993: Quadra 700
    1994: Mac 7100/80
    1996: Umax S900
    1999: Blue & White G3
    2001: Upgraded BW G3 to a 500 Mhz G4
    2002: Dual Gig Quicksilver

So, that's a new Mac or upgrade about once every 2 years on average.
  4. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

Mr. Anderson

Nov 1, 2001