will apple tv work with my tv?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by .mark., Feb 22, 2008.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Location:
    Jersey, C.I.
    #1
    hey i have the following tv in my bedroom and i'm considering an apple tv for it but i'm not sure it would work as it's not got hdmi or component interfaces.

    I'm also considering a mini for it instead as that would work via a dvi-vga adapter. one thing holding me back from this is the fact that apple seems to have left front row behind and has improved "take 2". Anyone know/think if front row will be getting a similar update to bring it back inline with apple tv or is apple differentiating apple tv from front row to try and boost atv sales?
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #2
    so you just have svideo and/or composite? i don't think things will go so well and definitely not without buying a converter.

    i will say you don't need a widescreen hd tv, but you do need at least component inputs.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Location:
    Jersey, C.I.
    #3
    its got a vga input and that's what I was hoping would work...
     
  4. macrumors G3

    Kilamite

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Scotland
    #4
    Your TV doesn't support HD TV. It has the resolution which can display 720p but doesn't have the required HDMI input or component inputs.

    It won't work if you ask me. There might be a way round it, but the quality won't be very good. Apple TV is optimised for widescreen TV's and HD tele's.

    I'd invest in a 26" HDTV, they don't cost that much at all these days.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Location:
    Jersey, C.I.
    #5
    a new tv is something i do want but not now.

    would this work
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    #6
    Probably will. Another option would be to purchase a VGA to DVI and another DVI to HDMI
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #7
    Need to switch that bold up. He will need a DVI to VGA, which is much more expensive because it has to convert digital to analog.
     

Share This Page