Will I Be Able To Run The Sims 2 Smoothly?

Discussion in 'Games' started by SamIchi, Sep 8, 2005.

  1. SamIchi macrumors 68030

    SamIchi

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    #1
    I got a G4 1.25 GHZ eMac w/ 768 MB of RAM. What you guys think?
     
  2. Patmian212 macrumors 68020

    Patmian212

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    Probably not, from what I read on the games forum it wont run smoothly on most G4s especially not on an emac because it only has a 32mb graphics card, you might want to try the sims 1 and the HUGE expansion set, thats what I did.
     
  3. SamIchi thread starter macrumors 68030

    SamIchi

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    #3
    ehhh... OK, I've already played out the first one a long time ago.
     
  4. darkelipse04 macrumors newbie

    darkelipse04

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #4
    Actually I heard it will run fine with those specs... Even if its a 9200 graphic card, just turn down the effects.
     
  5. JeDiBoYTJ macrumors 6502a

    JeDiBoYTJ

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    #5
    for the beginning, it should work OK... but dont even think about inviting more than 1 other person over to the house, it will turn into a slideshow.

    it runs decently on my Powerbook (specs in sig), but having more than 4 people on the screen in a normal sized house is living hell on my machine... for that reason I dont play the game that often.

    oh BTW, that is with all options set to LOW.
     
  6. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    System Requirements:

    Operating System: Mac OS X 10.3.8 or later
    CPU Processor: PowerPC G4/G5
    CPU Speed: 1.2GHz or faster
    Memory: 256 MB or higher
    Hard Disk Space: 3GB free disk space
    Video Card (ATI): Radeon 9000 or better
    Video Card (NVidia): GeForce FX5200 or better
    Video Memory (VRam): 32 MB or higher
    Media Required: DVD Drive

    and one of the more moral excuses for pirating a game applies here, you can test it out before buying, if i hadn't pirated rise of nations i would have bought it and be boned because it wont work on either of my macs, it has a stupid ass messeges that stops you playing it if your below any of the specs, for my ibook i only have 16MB vram even though it's a radeon, and for my cube i had a 450MHz cpu and it required a 600MHz one (which my ibook had.
     
  7. jamdr macrumors 6502a

    jamdr

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #7
    Will you be able to run it? Yes. Will it run smoothly? Absolutely not. A lot of frames will skip, it may generally just seem slow depending on what you are used to, but it will be quite playable. I think the only machine the Sims 2 will run "smoothly" on is a high-end G5. But there's no reason you can't enjoy it on your machine unless the low frame rate would really bother you that much.
     

Share This Page