Will I notice a difference?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by lamina, Mar 20, 2006.

  1. lamina macrumors 68000

    lamina

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    From Canada, living in Seoul
    #1
    I have a 17 PB 1.67 1GB in a single DDR2 stick, ahh whatever read my signature for the specs. I pretty much just surf the web, use Photoshop (rarely), iPhoto sometimes.

    Would I notice a difference if I threw another 512 in? This thing is already really fast, but I'm wondering if it would be a noticeable change.
     
  2. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    No you wouldn't really notice any difference. Maybe the Finder would be a touch more snappy.
     
  3. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    I think the biggest difference you'd notice is the length of time between reboots and the slowness associated with that.
     
  4. celebrian23 macrumors 65816

    celebrian23

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Under the sun
    #4
    I don't think it's worth it for what you do. You probably would only see a marginal increase in speed.
     
  5. Cloudgazer macrumors 6502

    Cloudgazer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Location:
    RSA
    #5
    Ok

    I have the 1.67 pbook with 512mb, will i notice a difference by adding another 1gb?
    besides a faster reboot, what are the benefits?

    Apps most used: photoshop, dreamweaver, imovie, idvd, and iphoto
     
  6. spacehog371 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    #6
    in my experience, ram makes a huge difference with speed on all fronts.
     
  7. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #7
    Yes, you would notice a difference. Switching between programs, and adding filters and tasks in those programs will produce noticeable and more consistent computing.
     
  8. ChrisBrightwell macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #8
    How many page in operations do you do on a regular basis?

    The more you currently page in to memory, the more of a boost you'll see from adding another 512MB of RAM. If you're hardly paging anything into memory (from the disk), you won't notice much of a change.
     
  9. munckee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #9
    It also depends whether you have the stick already. Should you go out and buy another 512, no probably not. Should you slap it in the PB because its laying around, why the heck not?
     
  10. zelmo macrumors 603

    zelmo

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Location:
    Mac since 7.5
    #10
    I have a 15" 1.33 PowerBook, and noticed a decent speed bump under 10.4 when I upped my RAM from 512 to 1GB.
     
  11. ChrisBrightwell macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #11
    You'll typically see a larger boost upgrading 512MB->1GB than you will 1GB->1.5GB.
     
  12. lamina thread starter macrumors 68000

    lamina

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    From Canada, living in Seoul
    #12
    My uptime is about 20 hrs, check the image I (hopefully) attached for my page info.


     

    Attached Files:

    • mem.jpg
      mem.jpg
      File size:
      87.5 KB
      Views:
      66
  13. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #13
    That's a rather high number of page outs for only 20 hours of uptime, which I assume it was not being used straight for 20 hours.

    Let's put it this way.. more RAM is ALWAYS better. Whether you will see "speed" benefits from it, I don't think so. But it will increase your uptime and benefit you in that the memory management won't have to start using swap as soon as it might with only 1GB of RAM.
    Not to imply that 1GB of RAM isn't adequate.
     
  14. lamina thread starter macrumors 68000

    lamina

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    From Canada, living in Seoul
    #14

    Well I was encoding an avi overnight in Handbrake... I'm not sure how that would affect the page outs.
     
  15. ChrisBrightwell macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #15
    You might spring for 2GB instead of 1.5GB. :)
     
  16. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #16
    That would really tax the memory management, and explains why you have so many page outs. If that's the kinda thing you're doing, then IMO another 512MB is a drop in the bucket.
     
  17. lamina thread starter macrumors 68000

    lamina

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    From Canada, living in Seoul
    #17

    Yeah that makes sense. Looks like I'll be holding off. Thanks for your input.
     
  18. lamina thread starter macrumors 68000

    lamina

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    From Canada, living in Seoul
    #18
    Well, decided to upgrate another gig. Now I'm at 2GB and I do notice a difference in boot time and also when playing games. Cost me about $200CAD, but I think it was worth it, especially since now I can say I have 2GB of ram :)
     

Share This Page