Will iMac ever come with TV tuner?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by swingerofbirch, Aug 11, 2006.

  1. swingerofbirch macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    The Amalgamated States of Central North America
    #1
    With Apple readying revised Front Row in Leopard, what do you all think about Apple including a TV tuner in the iMac or other Macs for that matter?

    If they put in an HDTV tuner would the display be able to show real HDTV?
     
  2. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #2
    Steve Jobs hates the TV, but lets hope so I mean really if you want to be a entertainment hub you must have TV solution. Apple doesnt have nothing and the few 3rd party devices are very expensive. $150-$200. Then you look on the Pc side and you can sometimes get a tv solution for as little as $20 and you dont have to have another box because it goes into a pci slot. Come on Apple:rolleyes:
     
  3. swingerofbirch thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    The Amalgamated States of Central North America
    #3
    When i finallly get an intel mac i'll be able to replace two computers with one (a la boot camp), it would be so nice to be able to replace my TV as well.

    It's actually quite environmentally friendly too.

    RIght now I have an eMac (CRT), a PC for work (CRT), and a 20" CRT TV in my room. I would love to replace them all with an iMac. That would draw a lot less power during the day, make less noise, and just would look so much nicer.
     
  4. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #4
    As far as I know, they already have one or two tv tuner cards for expresscard slots.

    But they are a bit expensive.
     
  5. Super Macho Man macrumors 6502a

    Super Macho Man

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #5
    You already can, you just need to buy an external TV tuner from Elgato. These are expensive, but I can't imagine Apple ever selling a TV tuner, built-in or not, that is any less so. :(

    On the bright side, you get what you pay for, and Elgato's products are very nice and integrate seamlessly into Mac OS X.
     
  6. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #6
    Or you can get a DVR and record what you're watching directly from that. ;)

    So much less expensive.
     
  7. Super Macho Man macrumors 6502a

    Super Macho Man

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #7
    Both the 17" and 20" iMac are able to display 720p HDTV at full resolution. 1080i needs to be downscaled. Both of the iMacs have more resolution than a lot of full-size LCD HDTV sets. You can already get HDTV on the iMac with the EyeTV 500 or Miglia TVmini HD. I don't see any advantage of an Apple tuner unless it were built in, but I can't imagine Jobs/Ive wanting to put an ugly coax antenna input on the back of the iMac.
     
  8. Super Macho Man macrumors 6502a

    Super Macho Man

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #8
    Well, that wouldn't help you get rid of your TV though, which was what the original poster wanted to do.
     
  9. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #9
    Well, in that case, you're correct, though he could just use a $20 TV Tuner card if he was running it under Windows. :)
     
  10. Timepass macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    #10
    no PCI slot on an iMac. That is the real road block here. It is not software it is a hardware issue and considering anything under 2k for just the computer is not upgradible that is out of the question.
     
  11. swingerofbirch thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    The Amalgamated States of Central North America
    #11
    Given the considerations, the El Gato sounds pretty good. Can you use the Apple remote to control it?
     
  12. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #12
    To my knowledge, no.
     
  13. Super Macho Man macrumors 6502a

    Super Macho Man

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #13
    I don't think so, but some of the models do come with a remote of their own.
     
  14. Super Macho Man macrumors 6502a

    Super Macho Man

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #14
    I agree. Would it really kill Apple to stick a PCI slot or two into the iMac and make it a little thicker, or to release a Mac Pro Mini.

    Of course a PCI slot wouldn't be enough, we'd still need to have drivers and an application to be able to USE a TV card.
     
  15. milo macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    #15
    Not really necessary...there are external USB solutions already.
     
  16. MacsAttack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #16
    Yes.

    They added that little feature in the latest update (Version 2.3).

    http://www.elgato.com/
     
  17. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #17
    Ah, I wasn't aware of that. Good to know! :)
     
  18. MacsAttack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #18
    Due to regional variations in TV transmissions it would be necesary to have a different tuners for various regions. This would seriously complicate production. Apple builds commodity computers (except for the new Mac Pro). One size fits all regions as far as hardware goes.

    For that reason alone they are never going to put a TV tuner in there - much better left to third party manufacturers.

    Also - if some of the specuation about movies and iTunes is correct it is not in Apple's interest to provide Mac users with an alternative source of "free" video...
     
  19. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #19
    Thats a good reason but its still a shame when TV tuners are a dirt cheap now. I almost allways have tv going in the background:)
     
  20. MacsAttack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #20
    It is a good business reason.

    I understand why they don't

    Does not mean I like it. :)

    I've got a DTV receive hanging off a USB port on my Mac Mini. Works great, but it would be nice if it were included within the Mini - even if it is only about the size of a pack of cards.

    Of course I had to get a MiniMate external hard drive when my TV recordings filled up the drive on the Mini...
     
  21. thebrain07 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    West Coast
    #21
    I personally have the eyetv 200 (from el gato) and its works very well, and yes I wish it was internal and not filling up one of my precious FW ports. Yes It was kinda spendy. but do you really think that IF (BIG A$$ed IF) Apple made one either external/internal as an option that it would be anywhere in the ballpark of cheap.

    just my 2 cents
     
  22. MacsAttack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #22
    A valid point - though given the Apple markup on "exras" that should have been 3 cents...
     
  23. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #23
    My guess is yes.

    First, I have no insider information. I don't know anyone that works at Apple. So my conclusions are based on 'public' observations only. They're just guesses.

    That said... I would guess that the next version of Front Row will support live/DVR TV. At least analog, if not digital (aka HD.) Why? Because of one little line on Apple's Leopard Preview Accessibility page:
    Now, why would they need to support closed captioning in analog broadcasts? The Mac doesn't presently support 'analog broadcasts' without first converting them to nice digital files. That leads me to think that the OS (or QuickTime, anyway,) will natively support TV tuners. Apple doesn't tend to add things like that unless they plan on using it themselves. (Inkwell notwithstanding.) So my guess is that all of the 'consumer' Macs will come with integrated TV tuners at a minimum. Support for third-party TV tuners and/or an Apple-branded external tuner might be included, but I wouldn't count on it.
     
  24. eidrunner247 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Arizona
    #24
    I remember many years ago, my dad put in a TV tuner in his Powermac (did they call it 'power'?) or Mac 6500. it was one of the coolest things to have on the computer, run programs and watch tv... ahh... good times... He still has the mac collecting dust somewhere too...
     
  25. MacsAttack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #25


    So they plan to add closed caption support (a standard used at the moment in analog broadcasting in the US) to all the Quicktime stuff they sell through iTunes - and to allow others to produce Quicktime content that does the same.

    All part of Apple's evil pan to dominate the world of digital media (who needs this TV thing anyway when you have iTunes?) :)
     

Share This Page