Will it be possible to add a processor to the 1.8G5?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by onlydroops, Sep 30, 2003.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    #1
    I'm wondeirng if I'll be able to add a second processor to the 1.8 sometime in the future. I can't afford the DP 2.0.... so I'm wondering if down the road I can just pop in another processor.

    Anyone know?
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Toeknee

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    #2
    i dont think so chief. you'd prob have to do some serious soldering. where i work at we have the 1.8 and its plenty fast so I dont think you should be really worried about adding another processor. Not to mention you would have to add another fan if you were able to.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    #3
    more curious than serious, good to know. i forgot about the fans and such.

    just from looking at the design it looks so simple to just slide in another g5 processor.
     
  4. macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #4
    it really is a good question? with the g4 towers is was allways taken for granted you could upgrade but with the new g5 machines it might end up being like the darn imac where what you buy is what you buy.
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    ZildjianKX

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    #5
    Looking at the 1.8 G5 motherboard, its impossible. For day to day use, you won't notice a difference between a single and dual G5, only when you start getting into video encoding and such do you really see a difference.
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    CrackedButter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    51st State of America
    #6
    I don't think its fair however. They should allow the option while ordering online IHMO.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA
    #7
    Don't think what is fair? The fact that you can't plop another processor into a computer? Have you ever built a comptuer before????

    BEN
     

Share This Page