Will it cost anything for Tiger users to upgrade to Leopard?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by 758, Nov 21, 2006.

1. 758 macrumors newbie

I'm pretty new to Mac (I have only had my MacBook for 3 months now) so I have never went through any of the new release cycles for Mac. So I was just wondering if it is going to cost us tiger users anything to upgrade to leopard? I am thinkin not since it is just an upgrade...sort of like sp2 for windows i guess. But im just checking.

2. ChickenSwartz macrumors 6502a

Yes. Something less than $150 (I hope).
    SP2 was a minor revision of the existing OS like going from 10.4.n to 10.4.n+1. Leopard is a new operating, like Vista.

3. 758 thread starter macrumors newbie

ahhhh, i see.
    Then why are they still calling it OS X? Wouldnt it be OS XI (or whatever 11 is). Or are they still calling it OS X because it is still using that same Mach Kernel and they have just changed the applications it comes with and such?

4. skunk macrumors G4

skunk

THe general idea is that you have to pay for each full-point upgrade (usually $129, it seems), i.e. from 10.2>10.3>10.4, but all the intermediate upgrades are free. Each full-point upgrade has additional "major" features - though some are less "major" than others.

5. ChickenSwartz macrumors 6502a

It will be called OS X, version 10.5 (Tiger is 10.4). I am sure there are some changes to the core programing like supporting 64 bit but the most noticeable and publicized changes are to the apps. Take a look at the "preview": http://www.apple.com/macosx/leopard/index.html

6. Catfish_Man macrumors 68030

Catfish_Man

It's unclear why they decided to go with 10.0, 10.1, 10.2, etc... instead of 10, 11, 12, etc... I assume there's some good marketing reason.

7. ChickenSwartz macrumors 6502a

Then they couldn't keep calling it OS X. "OS X" is so damn sleek and cool. Could you see a CD/DVD with "XI" across it? "XIV"? forget it. They like the "X."

8. knackroller macrumors regular

knackroller