Will Leopard cost money?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by ljump12, Jul 2, 2006.

1. ljump12 macrumors 6502

Im new to this whole mac stuff; is leopard like a new version of the OS; so will i have to spend $150 to get it; or is it a free upgrade?

2. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

It will cost money, probably the same price as Tiger. Not sure what that cost in the US but here in the UK it was about £70ish or so.

3. MistaBungle macrumors 6502a

MistaBungle

Once it is released, it will be included on all new computers but if you want it for your computer currently at home, you will have to buy the upgrade and hovering around $100 is a fair guess.

4. Queso macrumors G4

Anyone who wants Leopard will all have to pay for it. Apple charge for all "major-point" upgrades i.e. 10.3 Panther or 10.4 Tiger, but then give free upgrades to keep the OS up to date with new hardware, security, all that sort of stuff.

So $129 for Leopard 10.5.0, then you'll get 10.5.1 through to 10.5.x for free. Then when 10.6.0 comes out, you have to pay again.

5. ljump12 thread starter macrumors 6502

how often do they release big updates? should i skip an update if its like every year?

6. alexstein macrumors 6502a

alexstein

Every major upgrade of the OS costs money. The way I think about is that it is not just an upgrade it's a major overhaul of the old OS.

In my opinion the move from Panther(10.3) to Tiger(10.4) was not a huge upgrade but Apple added some nice features. (I'm not a developer so I don't no what all happened under the hood)

Microsoft would do the same if they could get upgrade out the door like that.:D

7. alexstein macrumors 6502a

alexstein

I think it's about every 18months or something like that.

8. Queso macrumors G4

It was every year when OSX was being refined, but since Panther was released they've really slowed down. It's likely to be every 18 months to 2 years for now.