will Lion have leopard expose (not SL expose)

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by trailofdan, Feb 21, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #1
    please someone tell me that lion will have the same expose as leopard and not the god awful unusable expose of SL.
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    #2
    It will have Mission Control http://www.apple.com/macosx/lion/
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    #3
    Expose is still there, however it was changed dramatically...
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #4
    Sigh.....I'll have to give lion a proper try before I buy (I learnt my mistake the hard way with SL)
     
  5. macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #5
    why would it downgrade and go back to the expose in Leopard? it will definately have the SL expose. just integrated with mission control too.
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #6
    I prefer Expose from 10.5 as well, but I adjusted and went on.
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    #7
    I'm new to Mac OS X and SL is my first mac OS. I like the way that spaces separates desktops. I'm not certain that I'm going to like all of my apps working fullscreen. I'm thinking of moving to a 17 inch MBP from my 15 so that I can have a more workable workspace. I'll see.
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    #8
  9. macrumors 68030

    baryon

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #9
    So far the way I see it is:
    Leopard Exposé > SL Exposé > Mission Control

    I loved Exposé in Leopard, there was nothing wrong with it. It was quick, responsive, snappy, non-intrusive. It only changed the sizes of windows when necessary, and used up 100% of the space.

    In SL, the windows are smaller, they and do not preserve their locations and relative sizes. I like that you can enlarge them with Space, but that's not an excuse for making them smaller and appear in random order. Also, Exposé in SL is slower, choppier, laggier and buggier.

    In Lion, Exposé has turned into some random mess of icons and thumbnails everywhere, ordered arbitrarily and windows STILL hide each other because they are grouped together by application. There is just so much wasted space it makes me sad.

    Apple: Bring back Spaces and Exposé EXACTLY as there were in Leopard. Forget the stupid Mission Control, please!
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #10
    completely agree

    Completely agree... hated the SL expose, with the only thing being worse the new mission control. Tried the SL hack here in Lion, and looks like messes up the system.

    Back to SL (with the leopard expose) hack I go... seriously, i'm this close to ditching apple
     
  11. LxHunter, Oct 5, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2011

    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    #11

    For an Expose replacement take a look at: http://manytricks.com/witch/

    I use my iMac for work and Lion is a step backward for productivity - I don't need to repeat all the reasons that have already been well covered.

    Other Lion fixes I have used:
    1. Calendar is awful - replaced by BusyCal
    2. Mission Control/Expose is replaced by Witch
    3. Address Book - still looking for a replacement like the 3 panel version in Snow Leopard. I have looked at many CRM apps like SOHO, Daylite and Contactizer but they are overkill for me.

    I was planning an upgrade to iPhone 4S before I switched to Lion.
    If I have to revert to Outlook to replace the Lion Address Book I may as well move back to Windows 8 in a year. (I also have no choice but to use Excel and Word)
     

Share This Page