Will Merom help iMovie & iDVD processing?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Maxx26, Jun 21, 2006.

  1. Maxx26 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    #1
    Both my wife and I use my Quicksilver G4 (2GB/900GB+) for movies, DVD's, and thousands of pictures. Recently I started to work with Final Cut for more advance video editing. My computer is tuned very well, but all of these apps are heavy hitters in the world of processing.

    If I move to a MacBook (we both like the idea of having these apps portable) would there be much difference in these apps running on a Core Duo vs. a Merom MBP?

    If the difference is slight (10-15% i.e. 30min instead of 35 to burn a DVD) I see no need to wait. If the difference was around 50%, we can wait. I realize that in the next 2-3 all developers will move to 64 bit, which will necessitate a 64 bit machine, but I'll deal with that in the far future.

    It would be nice if anyone knows a site that has benchmarks (even though the Merom is brand new)

    Thanks, Maxx
     
  2. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #2
    Well the Merom will likely be around 20 % faster than CoreDuo.

    As for 64-bit, dont bother. The only real advantage it gives is the ability to use tons of RAM (4GB+), which is not actual for laptops (assuming you want a laptop) with two RAM slots.

    Also don't forget about the HD space limitation on laptops, you should have tons of external HDs to cover your current 900 GBs of storage capacity
     
  3. thumb macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    #3
    why couldnt you put 2 2GB sticks in?
     
  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    That would only take you to 4Gb which is the theoretical 32-bit ceiling. If you want more than 4Gb you need to be in 64-bit land.
     
  5. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #5
    What robbieduncan said + 2 gig sticks are very expensive these days.
     
  6. daveL macrumors 68020

    daveL

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Location:
    Montana
    #6
    The 4 GB limit you are referring to is *per process*, not all processes (programs) running at any particular moment. If you want Photoshop to access more than 4 GB, then yes, you need to be 64 bit. However, you can have a large number of processes using, say 256 MB, that exceed the 4 GB total, without being "in 64 bit land".

    Also, apps that do a lot of 64 bit integer math will benefit (think pixels).
     
  7. SC68Cal macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    #7

Share This Page