Will Mountain Lion run with 3GB RAM?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by 2012Tony2012, Mar 31, 2013.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    2012Tony2012

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #1
    I have an Mid 2007 imac 20" model: a1224 with 3GB RAM.

    Can I install ML on it?
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Yes. PS, why not get another 2 GB module and upgrade to 4 GB RAM? And I did run OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion on that Mac but threw it off after a month, maybe it is better now though.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    2012Tony2012

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #3
    Why did you? Too sluggish?
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    Yes, but I also dislike Mission Control. And i did use an SSD. As my next Mac will have ML I probably have to get friendly with it anyway.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
  6. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #6
    Barely.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    I have the mid 2007 iMac also and it was running fine with my 3 gigs of ram. I also just bought the new iMac with 8 gigs of ram. My 2007 iMac will become my spare machine on wifi. 
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    #8
    Im running it with 3GB now no noticeable quirks but i dont really do anything to heavy im sure if you were doing some video editing whilst watching a DVD or something you might have problems but for most people 3GB is enough
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    #9
    Needless to say, it runs much better with 8GB. :)
     
  10. macrumors 68030

    Mr. McMac

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #10
    I have an early 2009 24" 3.06ghz C2Duo iMac with 4gb of ram, and a 2011 2.3ghz i5 Mac Mini running 8gb of ram. Both are running 10.8.3 Mountain Lion. The Mini is much more responsive than the iMac. When I had 2gb of ram in the Mini, it was a slug.
    8 or more gigs is the way to go
     

Share This Page