Will my G4's drives work in new Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Will G., Feb 2, 2008.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    #1
    In my current dual 800mhz PowerMac G4, I have two 80gb hard drives which were ordered from Apple (didn't know better at the time). Will I be able to put them in my Mac Pro when it comes in a few weeks, or are they too old to be compatible?

    Thanks. :)
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    FJ218700

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Blue Dot, Red State
    #2
    no, sorry.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Dark Dragoon

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    You should be able put one in the second optical drive bay.
     
  4. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #4
    can't you install one in the second optical drive bay? or are they sata too?

    edit:
    DD beat me to it lol
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    Sweetfeld28

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Location:
    Buckeye Country, O-H
    #5
    everymac.com

    Compare the ports between the two computers. MacPro's have SATA drives, while G4's had IDE.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Southern California
    #6
    you can slap 2 IDE (ATA) drives into a case like this and hook it up through Firewire 800. I'm not saying it makes any financial sense to preserve your 80GB drives. I had a couple 400GB migrating from my Digital Audio G4 and will use them in this enclosure for TimeMachine on my new Mac Pro.
     

Share This Page