Will my iMac run Lion?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Morod, May 24, 2011.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Morod

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Location:
    On The Nickel, over there....
    #1
    Hi all,
    Stupid question probably, but I'd like to know if my iMac will be able to run Lion, should I choose to upgrade.
    I have a late 2007 Al iMac, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 500GB HD, 4GB RAM.
    SL runs fine and I'm of the opinion that, "If it ain't broke don't fix it".
    Still I'm wondering. Will 10.7 Lion run okay on this iMac? Thanks to all!
     
  2. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #2
    Yes.
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #3
    Runs fine on 1.4GHz C2D Airs, so yes, it's fine.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Morod

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Location:
    On The Nickel, over there....
    #4
    Thanks for the quick replies!
    Now to see if the features are worth the cost (to me).
    Thanks again!
    Morod
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    ipedro

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    How about on a CoreDuo MacBookPro?
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    #6
    Nope. Needs Core 2 Duo or newer.
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    #7
    Also wondering if my macbook will be able to run Lion,

    Its got C2D, and 2GBs of ram so i'm not worried on that side, but i was wondering if anyone knows the minimum graphics needed? as my macbook only has GMA 950.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    RoelJuun

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #8
    It will work, maybe not as smooth as other Macs but it will work. Where I'm interested in, is how Lion will handle the Macs that don't have (3/4 finger)multi-touch support such as the older MacBooks. These won't be able to swipe through spaces/fullscreen apps or open Launchpad or Mission Control.
     
  9. macrumors regular

    3GEE

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    #9
    I have a late 2008 iMac with Core 2 Duo but I'm running Leopard. I'd rather not upgrade to SL but go straight to Lion. Will this be possible?
     

Share This Page