Will old iMacs take 133mhz RAM?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by ShaggyLR, Jan 3, 2005.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal
    #1
    I am looking at buying RAM for an older slot loading iMac (500mhz DV SE) and 100mhz RAM is harder to come by these days. Will the computer take the 133 RAM instead and just run it at 100?

    Thanks.
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Hodapp

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #2
    Most PC's have no problem taking faster RAM in slower slots, it just operates at PC100 rather than PC133 speeds. I would assume Macs are the same way, but I've never tried.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    #3
    That model should have no difficulty at all running PC133 instead of PC100. It would only be a concern among very early iMacs. The original 233MHz model has an issue with recognizing only half of the installed PC133. However, your 500MHz model will have no trouble whatsoever.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Mertzen

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Location:
    ]KLGA[
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal
    #5
    Excellent, thanks. For some reason, the few PC100's that I've seen around town are usually about $5 to $10 more than the PC133 RAM.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    #6
    PC100 is in shorter supply, and production has been reduced more than that of PC133, thus the increased price.
     
  7. macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #7
    So long as you don't get DDR RAM, you are fine.
     

Share This Page