Will RAM increase Handbrake?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by JimmyB248, Jul 9, 2006.

  1. JimmyB248 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    #1
    I've got a MBP 1.83GHz with 512mb of RAM. I have been ripping DVD's to my iPod using Handbrake and I'm averaging about 52fps when not really using anything else. I've just ordered myself 2 1gb sticks of RAM coming tomorrow as the speed is just unbearable and is slower than my old PB with 1gb RAM.

    When I get these sticks, obviously the general speed of the computer will increase when I use more apps, but will it increase the ripping speed? Any ideas?
     
  2. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #2
    No, are you kidding that it's slower than a G4 PowerBook? What speeds were you getting on the PowerBook because my 1.2GHz G4 gets a maximum of about 10fps when ripping to H.264 iPod settings and not using anything else.

    The RAM won't do much, if anything, it's mainly processor based. I'd be stoked to be ripping DVDs at nearly 2x real time.
     
  3. JimmyB248 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    #3
    Don't get me wrong I'm not complaining at the 50fps, but I've been hearing people with MBP's that have more RAM getting 99fps, that would be incredible.

    Ripping itself is far far faster on the MBP, but general useage, using iTunes while browsing Safari and using Adium while downloading something will cause to having a 10 second pause at least whenever an application is switched or a different song is played. Bring on tomorrow! Plus I get my 120GB HDD too, not limited to 80GB anymore.
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    Those 99 fps might be using an external DVD-ROM/RW. A lot of complaints were made using MacTheRipper being slow when it turned out it was just the slow drives on the laptops. Even running in Rosetta the drives were the bottleneck.
     
  5. 10-Dee-Q macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Location:
    Bandung, West Java, Indonesia & Singapore
    #5
    how about with macbook ?
    will ther time be simmilar to MBP with the same proccesor ?
     
  6. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #6
    The RAM won't help with speeding up Handbrake, it will however help greatly with switching between apps whilst Handbrake is running.

    Rip speeds depend greatly on the settings you use, H.264 is much slower than MPEG4 encoding so you could mess around with that. Lower resolutions speed up encoding too.

    When I rip a DVD at full resolution and about 1250kbps for video I usually average the following:

    MPEG4 - 10 to 12fps.
    H.264 - 3 to 6 fps.

    For iPod-compatible video:

    MPEG4 - 16 to 20fps
    H.264 - 10 to 12fps

    I would kill for something that ripped at 50fps, even real-time H.264 encoding which I'm told is possible on the Core Duo systems would be a huge improvement. I ran a thread requesting benchmark speeds a while back and people were reporting around 60fps for full resolution MPEG4 encoding and ~24fps for full resolution H.264 encoding. That would be amazing compared with my G4.
     
  7. JimmyB248 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    #7
    Wow, well then I'm pretty impressed, I'm currently ripping Season 2 of 24 at full resolution 1100kbps in h.264 and I was getting 50fps, strangely though it's just dropped down to 21fps, any ideas why it's slowed down?
     
  8. Mernak macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Location:
    Kirkland, WA
    #8
    the only thing I can think of is if you are using another processor intesive task. but yeah, my macbook was ripping 50+ fps at 100% quality (dont remember if it was h.264 or just MPEG-4)
     

Share This Page