Will the Edu discount work if I go to another college bookstore?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by fraeone, Oct 3, 2003.

1. fraeone macrumors regular

fraeone

I'm really interested in buying a new PB. I'm a student, at a school that qualifies for the Apple discount, but my school is small enough that our bookstore isn't a campus reseller. (Evergreen State College for those who care). Now I know that I could just order from apple.com, but the tax essentially erases any student discount.

So my question is: can I go to another school's campus reseller and show them my current college id and registration? Ideally I would just take the 1.5 hour drive to Oregon, and go to the PSU or Reed College reseller. Which would save me the tax too.

Alternatively, does anyone know of any of the big online stores that will match apple's edu pricing if you ask? I seem to remember reading about someone having some moderate success that way, but I can't find the thread now.

Thanks for your wisdom,

fraeone

2. pepeleuepe macrumors 6502

I'm pretty sure you can go to an Apple Store and get the educational discount, you will still be charged tax, but at least there won't be any shipping charges.

3. advres Guest

advres

I just purchased a new powerbook from an Apple Retail location in New Hapshire to save on tax. I showed my student I.D. and got the discount. I don't see why any Apple reseller would not give you the discount but i would call before the drive. hope this helps

4. fraeone thread starter macrumors regular

fraeone

Well, they just opened an Apple Store in Seattle, but like I said, the tax essentially erases the student discount. And Apple.com doesn't charge shipping anyway.

I saw rumors about an Apple Store opening in Portland, which would be _awesome_ because then I could get my student discount without tax, and without hassle.

5. Cheap-Chopstix macrumors member