Will this 200GB SATA work in the MacBook?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by knopix, Dec 3, 2006.

  1. knopix macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #1
  2. archurban macrumors 6502a

    archurban

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #2
    yes, it is. you can upgrade up to 200GB HD as far as it is 2.5 inch sata HD.
     
  3. Ale-500 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    #3
    Be aware that that disk is 12.5 mm (.49") high. It may not fit in the drive bay. But as Apple is offering an 200 GB 4200 rpm disk for MBs, can well be the same disk. You should have a look at the bay and see if a slightly taller disk can fit.
     
  4. knopix thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #4
    That alone does not guarantee it will work.
    The 200GB 2.5" SATA drives did not work in the original MacBooks.

    Unfortunately I don't own a MacBook so I can't test it out myself.
    A visitor of my Black MacBook site asked me this question, and being that the MacBook have been revised several times it's possible that the 200GB drives now work without a problem.

    Anyone that knows the reply to the original question, please post :)
     
  5. clovermead macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    I purchased the 200 GB Toshiba drive from OWC and have used it in both a MacBook CD and my current MacBook C2D. Works great and is very quiet.
     
  6. knopix thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #6
    great, thank you!
     
  7. archurban macrumors 6502a

    archurban

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #7
    don't say if you don't have any clue. 200GB HD just works with any macbook or macbook pro since they use the same form factor.:rolleyes:
     
  8. MacNut macrumors Core

    MacNut

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    #8
    Just out of curiosity but why do you have a web site called blackmacbook if you don't own one yourself.
     
  9. knopix thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #9
    I own tens of sites, BlackMacBook.com is just one of them.

    I bought the domain when the notebook just came out, and for a few months I had around 20-30 visitors a day but I didn't have a website.
    Instead of turning it into a spam website, I decided to make a real site with real content for people to enjoy.
    Now I get a few thousand visitors each month, but to me it's just a hobby.

    I would like to buy it myself one day, but I don't have the money for it right now.
     

Share This Page