Will this work for me?/Is this what I need? (Hooking up MBP to TV)

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Xander562, Jan 21, 2007.

  1. Xander562 macrumors 68000

    Xander562

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #1
    OK so I've recently had the urge to hook my MBP up to my TV. My TV is HD-Ready but has no HDMI in port. Only component video. Will this work for me?
    Linky

    Picture:
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Makosuke macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #2
    Not having actually tried it with that kind of cable I can't guarantee anything, but that looks to me like exactly what you'll want. It'll be using the analog output embedded in the DVI output, not the digital, but that's all your TV supports anyway.
     
  3. Xander562 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Xander562

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #3
    Any idea of what kind of resolutions/quality I can expect?
     
  4. jordygreen macrumors 6502

    jordygreen

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
    depending on what HD your TV is either 1920x1080 is it or 1376x768 is it i cant remember exactly the res.
     
  5. Xander562 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Xander562

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #5
    OK so I looked into it a bit more (I <3 wikipedia) and found that I will most likely be getting RGB composite video from this connector, as that is what the analog part of the DVI connector puts out. However my TV uses YPbPr. :confused: I'm a bit confused about the whole thing. Does this mean anything? Will I still be able to use this cable?
     
  6. Makosuke macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #6
    Considering that it only takes an inexpensive adapter to convert from VGA to old-school component video (the yellow plug) or SVideo, my guess is that it's probably no biggie to do the conversion from VGA to YPbPr, either. I could of course be wrong, but this is my guess (I also note that my TV has a VGA input that you can put an adapter for YPbPr inputs on; the opposite of what you're doing, but it seems like the conversion isn't involved).

    As for how it'll look on your TV, that's going to depend entirely on the TV, how well it handles that input at high-def (versus, say, a pure-digital HDMI input), and maybe even how good the cable is.
     
  7. h0e0h macrumors 6502a

    h0e0h

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Location:
    West Monroe, Louisiana
    #7
    just plug in the DVI end and then the component end in your TV, and assuming it's a good cable, you should see resolutions of 1366x768 or 1280x720 (my choice w/ my mac mini hooked to my TV via VGA)
     
  8. xappeal macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane - Australia
    #8
    You'll find that that cable is only likely to work with DVI-I and the like. The output from a MacBook/MacBook pro is DVI-D, you might be able to get a similar cable that connects to a VGA port, and use that output from the MacBook Pro.

    What I am trying to say is, that cables might fit together, but the signal is the wrong one, hence I don't think it would work.

    Edit: Look at the cable closely, you'll notice 4 pins around the flat pin, these are absent on the MacBook Pro adapter (and needed for that type of output) the cable WON'T fit, don't buy it.
     
  9. Passante macrumors 6502a

    Passante

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    on the sofa
    #9
    Your HD TV does not have HDI, DVI or VGA inputs? :eek:

    What connection does your TV have?

    The male side on the cable is a DVI-I. I think that the MBP is a dual link DVI-D and apple offers a composite cable and S-video adapter just not sure that you will get component video out of the graphics card. This thread from Apple support forum suggests not.
     
  10. Xander562 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Xander562

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #10
    Uhm, if you mean that the MBP doesn't have the four holes around the X or Plus sign thingly. You're wrong, it does.
    [​IMG]

    As i said my TV has Component Video.
     
  11. indg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    #11
    xander,
    i've tried that cable with my mbp and it definitely does not work. on my display preferences it shows it as outputting an RGB signal and not an NTSC signal that my TV could use.

    supposedly, the ati x1600 requires an hdtv component adapter like the ones mentioned here:
    http://ati.amd.com/products/hdtvadapter/index.html
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=290078684014

    it sounds like the adapter needs some windows software installed to make it work. i haven't tried it, so i don't know if it would work on macs or not. i'm curious though.
     

Share This Page