Will Time Capsule Work Without Internet?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by iqwertyi, Feb 7, 2008.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #1
    A couple of quick questions on the time capsule.

    My brother is looking to get the Macbook Air along with Time Capsule.
    He doesn't have internet in his house.
    Will the time capsule still work with the macbook air simply as an external storage to access wirelessly?

    I'm thinking yes, but wanted to make sure.

    Thank you.
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    Indy, IN
    #2
    I believe it should, you just need an airport connection between the two.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    cohibadad

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #3
    the mac just needs to be on the same network as the Time Capsule. Internet would not be necessary.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #4
    wait... so the Time Capsule is NOT a router as well?
    I thought it was because of all those ethernet ports back there.

    I'm sorry for the mac newbie question, but what exactly does the airport do?
    Is the Airport a router?
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    CaptainCaveMann

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    #5
    Ok now I'm confused, I thought it was a router to.
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    JML42691

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #6
    It is a router as well, there is a difference between connecting to the router and connecting to the internet. You can be connecting to the router and not the internet.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #7
    ok, so these two should be able to connect to each other without any other hardware, correct?
     
  8. macrumors 68020

    JML42691

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #8
    That is correct.
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Nubben

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    #9
  10. macrumors regular

    aussieinrome

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Location:
    Rome, Italy.
    #10
    Time Capsule

    Time Capsule does not work with out the internet connected. Unless I did something wrong - it doesn't work. Yesterday an Airport Express arrived at home, I need it to send audio via wireless... but even that doesn't work without internet access (via my Time Capsule).

    Please prove me wrong because I need to use the Airport Express and the Time Capsule for time to time when no internet is present...
     
  11. macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #11
    "Time Capsule is also a full-featured 802.11n Wi-Fi base station."
    http://www.apple.com/timecapsule/


    You are wrong. You need to set one of them to be the "internet connection" and the other one to "extend the network".
     
  12. macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #12
    Uh...you're doing something wrong. Both the Time Capsule and Airport Express work just fine without providing internet access. You have to make sure the express is joining the wireless network that the TC has set up, though.
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    BanjoBanker

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    Mt Brook, AL
    #13
    The express will work fine without being part of the network with the TC. If all the OP wants the Express for is to stream music, no sweat. However, you are correct if OP wants to use the TC and Express at the same time. :D
     
  14. macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #14
    yep...

    You are correct.

    It does, however, make more sense to have them all on the same network, but to each their own.
     
  15. macrumors regular

    wordy

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto
    #15
    Good way to sum it up is that TC and AExpress need LAN, but WAN is optional.
     
  16. macrumors regular

    aussieinrome

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Location:
    Rome, Italy.
    #16
    How can you set one to be the internet connection with no internet access?
     
  17. macrumors regular

    aussieinrome

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Location:
    Rome, Italy.
    #17
    I couldn't setup a wireless network on the TC without internet connection...
     
  18. macrumors regular

    wordy

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto
    #18
    What the poster meant was that while each can be set to create their own wireless networks side by side, what you actually want is just to create one network and then have the other device either join or extend that network.
     
  19. macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #19
    How can it be so hard? Time Capsule is basically the AirPort Extreme, but with built-in hard drive.

    The internet connection is NOT necessary for ANY router. You can use them for just networking with local computers via wi-fi or ethernet - its all your choice.

    Its all the same for TC, AirPort Extreme, AirPort Express.

    My setup at home looks like this:

    APExtreme is connected to the internet and is distributing the access to all wi-fi devices (MacBook, iPod, etc) and to all computers connected to it via Ethernet (iMac, Asus laptop). Its also providing file sharing/LAN gaming capability to all (both wifi and ethernet) computers.

    My APExpress is in my living room connected to a home theater receiver for AirTunes. Its not set to extend the network, but set up JUST for AirTunes.

    If I disconnect my internet wire from APExtreme, it all works just the same (except for not having access to the internet, obviously). Computers still can share files and use AirTunes.
     
  20. macrumors regular

    aussieinrome

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Location:
    Rome, Italy.
    #20
    Thanks but is anyone willing to do a tutorial?
     
  21. macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #21
    Ehh why don't people read product manuals if they don't know how to use them?
     
  22. macrumors regular

    Nubben

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    #22
    Hi,

    I know this thread has been "sleeping" for a while but came across it yesterday when I was looking for a similar set-up looking like this:

    1. Use my ISP's wireless router (have to due to firewall/e-mail restrictions) for wirelessly connecting to the Internet; and

    2. SIMULTANEOUSLY be hooked up to the TC wirelessly.

    I'm planning on using the TC as a drive to store my iTunes library and other stuff. So, when I'm hooked up to the TC (having loaded the iTunes library stored on the TC) I would like at the same time be able to access the Interent through my ISP's wireless router to download songs to the iTunes library.

    Can I achieve this?

    Thanks.

    Nubben
     
  23. macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #23

    I have no experience with mixed Apple and non-Appe routers, but I think you can set TC to the "Join wireless network" mode. So it will work just as another client in the existing network.
     
  24. macrumors 68020

    JML42691

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #24
    Can anybody confirm this, will it work at a "bounce" for the network signal? Because if so, then it may give me more of an incentive to buy one.
     
  25. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #25
    it should work, event without an internet connection
     

Share This Page