Will upgrading to 8GB RAM increase my Intel HD3000 graphics memory?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by kyle1320, Jul 27, 2011.

  1. macrumors regular

    kyle1320

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    In my own little world
    #1
    I saw a comment on 8GB of ram I ordered that in the 2011 MBP's on Lion when the system detects 8GB of RAM, it increases the shared memory of the Intel HD3000 integrated graphics to 512 MB instead of the default 384 MB. Is this true? I'm currently waiting for the RAM to arrive, and it'd be nice to know if this will happen, and if it will increase my graphics performance. Thanks :)
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    fat jez

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #2
    yep, it is indeed
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    kyle1320

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    In my own little world
    #3
    Cool, would this increase graphics performance?
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    What kind of RAM? I ordered cosair for 50 bucks on amazon.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    kyle1320

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    In my own little world
    #5
    Same, Corsair 8GB 1333MHz for $45 after rebate.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    sparky1499

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #6
    silly question, but does this apply to Snow Leopard too?
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    fat jez

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #7
    I'm not sure on that one.

    Yes, it's not really an OS thing, more of a firmware thing.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Kentochan

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    #8
    On my 2011 base 13" MBP, I went from 384MB to 512MB on the Intel HD 3000 when upgraded to the 8GB RAM (G.Skill).
     
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    #9
    yup. pic for proof :D

    [​IMG]
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    #10
    That is useful info to know. Thanks.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors regular

    kyle1320

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    In my own little world
    #11
    Did you notice a boost in graphics performance?
     
  12. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    #12
    I haven't noticed any difference. I only ran with 4 gb of ram for a couple days before I upgraded, so I wouldn't be able to give you a good comparison. lol
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
    #13
    It won't increase performance per se, because much like upgrading system RAM, its not a performance improvement but rather a capacity improvement. It will mean that some games like Starcraft2 which require 512MB for textures to be on "high" can be run at that setting with no performance drawback.

    If you upgrade to DDR3 1600, that will in fact improve graphics performance slightly as shared graphics memory does cause a bottleneck in all cards that use it including 320M, 9400M and HD3000.
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    #14
    It doesn't increase graphic performance.. All it does raise the graphic buffer to 512 mb, if you want the better performance, run graphic stuff under windows. The Apple OpenGL rendering stack and graphic drivers is a piece of crap on mac os x.
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
    #15
    You've got it backwards, its vastly slower under Windows, the OpenGL performance on mac is current far ahead of both that and the Linux performance right now.
     
  16. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    #16
    IT slower under ATI graphic driver in Mac OS X. Maybe intel drivers have better graphic performance under Mac OS X
     
  17. S7A2G6, Aug 19, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2011

    macrumors member

    S7A2G6

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Location:
    America (**** Yeah)
    #17
    Mine does all that, and it is an 09 model.

    But I did happen to order the Corsair 8GB from Amazon today. That is how I stumbled upon this forum and registered.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    #18
    Faster RAM affects onboard graphic performance. This is really the only time I'd recommend getting MORE than 1333 RAM.
     
  19. jgz
    macrumors regular

    jgz

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Location:
    suedtirol.italy
    #19
    badly, that 1666mhz RAM seems to be incompatible with Core i7/Core i5 built in mbp 13"..... As the Intel IGP is the only GPU available on that machine, every little plus in terms of speed inprovement would be nice.....

    On the bigger ones mbp's it wouldn't make sense improving the IGP, because there's always available a Radeon for graphic intensive work....
     
  20. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #20
    to all the people that own the 2.2 i7 mbp 2011 15" .... is there any heating problems i should be worried about ? i recently placed my order for mbp and I'm expecting a shipment soon but I'm worried that the overheating is gonna trump my mbp experience. my previous mbp used to get hot too.. 08 mbp.. so please help... i am hearing that it doesn't overheat but then with some it does overheat and they have applied thermal paste to make it better... i don't know if i want to do all this.. help please. oh also.. my 2nd choice is a mba 13" i5 256ssd. help.
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    Lennyvalentin

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    #21
    No, SODIMM memories don't use much power and don't get particularly hot either.

    As for the laptop itself, yes it can get pretty warm when working at full capacity, but this is normal and only to be expected from such a high-performing laptop computer. Any time you have a fast processor in a small enclosure there'll be a bunch of heat generated.

    No need to worry though, the system is designed to handle that level of heat.
     
  22. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    #22
    Yes.

    To simplify what happens when memory is increased in the case of the Intel HD3000, it doesn't actually speed up much of anything. The additional RAM is mostly used for texture memory, which is useful when video is shot to a larger screen (i.e. larger EXT monitor). However speeding up the performance will require the data to be pulled from the VRAM quickly (this is why dedicated graphics adapters with GDDR are so fast at drawing textures).

    System RAM is still slow compared to video RAM found usually on dedicated GPU's because data still has to pass through the slower system bus rather than being on-die or near the GPU itself.
     
  23. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #23
    I upgraded to 8GB earlier this week in my 2010 13" MBP and About this Mac still says 256MB. So either it doesn't work for 2010 MBPs or I need to tweak a setting.
     
  24. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    #24
    It only works on the HD3000
     
  25. macrumors 68000

    maril1111

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #25
    Only works with the Intel 3000HD, nvidia users are out of luck for this one
     

Share This Page