Will WoW run on this mac?

Discussion in 'Games' started by fallofmart, Apr 27, 2005.

  1. fallofmart macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    #1
    Hey, my macs getting updated by the insurance company after accident, they are sending me this model iBook -

    1.33GHz PowerPC G4
    512K L2 cache (at 1.33GHz)
    14-inch TFT Display
    1024x768 resolution
    256MB DDR266 memory
    60GB Ultra ATA drive
    DVD/CD-RW drive
    ATI Mobility Radeon 9200
    32MB video memory
    AirPort Extreme built-in

    I was just wondering if I would now be able to play WoW as I've been wanting to try it for a long time now...

    Cheers
     
  2. xfactor11391 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    #2
    It should run pretty smoothly. I have played it on an 867mhz powerbook and it just gets pretty hot sometimes. Good luck with the game :D
     
  3. gekko513 macrumors 603

    gekko513

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    #3
    You should try to get some more RAM for it, if you can afford it.
     
  4. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
  5. Demon Hunter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #5
    It depends on the user, of course, but I find that Mac OS X barely runs on 256 MB, and trying to play WoW with that much RAM would be akin to trudging through mud while carrying a 600 pound Orc on your back...
     
  6. invaLPsion macrumors 65816

    invaLPsion

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Northlands
    #6
    An Orc? 600lbs? Maybe a Tauren? ;)
     
  7. baby duck monge macrumors 68000

    baby duck monge

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #7
    it runs on my mini just fine, so it should run on that comp provided you get some more memory for it.
     
  8. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #8
    So... how do you crank the settings to get it to run on the mini? Everything WAY down, I bet?
     
  9. Flickta macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Location:
    Born in USSR
    #9
    Now let us see,
    I have a PBG4 1Ghz (12") with 768 mb RAM and GeForce 5200 Go

    To run WoW at decent FPS I have to turn ALL the settings down. And even then I am not able to take part in epic encounters with 20+ creatures. Don't think that an iBook will do better
     
  10. Demon Hunter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #10
    WoW should automatically detect your GPU and give you the best settings. :)

    Just turn 'em down when things get hairy, or when you're in Ironforge. Playing on low population servers will also help immensely.
     
  11. takao macrumors 68040

    takao

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Location:
    Dornbirn (Austria)
    #11
    yeah pretty exactly... i have the resolution on 1024x768 and everything way down and it still runs comapletly awfull compared to my gaming pc (athlon xp 2000+, 1gb ram , gf ti4200 64 mb) and with few other players on the screen

    i haven't launched it since 2 weeks on my mac ... simply isn't as good to play (i only log in with the mac if i check the AH or something nothing longer)

    ontopic: it will run perhaps but not very good (imho)
     
  12. takao macrumors 68040

    takao

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Location:
    Dornbirn (Austria)
    #12
    not true, i found them rather unplayable on my mac mini, i had to turn it down quite some more, especially the effects
     
  13. fallofmart thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    #13
    What if I upped the ram to 768mb?

    Edit - Nevermind, I got guildwars instead.
     
  14. Demon Hunter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #14

    Ewww. Well I was going to say, turning off the sound will also increase performance, but who wants to do that?
     
  15. csubear macrumors 6502a

    csubear

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    #15
    Put some more ram in there and yes it should run well enough to play. Lowest settings mind you, but i regularly get 30 fps on my powerbook, sometimes worse, sometimes better.
     
  16. chaosbunny macrumors 68000

    chaosbunny

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Location:
    down to earth, far away from any clouds
    #16
    Hey, did that too! :) But now I'm playing on my new baby (see my sig). I had 1 gb ram in the 867 mhz pb and apart from Ironforge or large raids it ran pretty smooth with all settings down. So to the original post: get some more ram and you'll have a nice gaming experience. :D
     
  17. fallofmart thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    #17
    I might, but I don't really want to pay a monthly fee for a game that will play like crap.
     
  18. patseguin macrumors 65816

    patseguin

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    #18
    How about some feedback on GW? I was thinking about it for my laptop. I love WoW but have read great things about GW. Plus, there is no monthly fee.
     
  19. jakeOSX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    #19
    i play WoW on two machines

    800mhz G4, 760 RAM, ATI9000 (128 ram) (res 1600X1200) on dial-up
    800mhz g3, 640 RAM, ATI7500 (32 ram) iBook on broadband

    do i get 120 FPS? nope, but the game is definatly playable on both, no real issues (except lag, but that is a given)

    didn't really tweak any of the settings. IF can be painful at times, but that is a given as well. (i do play on a high pop server)

    (and yes, i said dial-up)

    the only problem with the game is that i can't play it at work. they should port it to the Nintendo DS so i can play it anywhere.
     
  20. fallofmart thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    #20
    When I get it and have played it a bit, no problem. Also, play.com are selling it for £17.99 delivered... :D
     
  21. fash macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    #21
    hi guys, n00b here...

    jus wondering... i heard WoW installing disc is compatable with both mac and pc, is there any truth in it???

    anyone know where i can get a "cheap" copy of it?
     
  22. britboy macrumors 68030

    britboy

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #22

    That is correct. The installation disks are compatible with both Mac and Windows.

    As far as a 'cheap' copy is concerned, that depends on your location. I purchased mine from cvg games. That's only in the UK though. Have you tried looking on ebay?
     
  23. cosmoed macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    #23
    What settings do you think WoW will run on the updated 2 ghz iMacs?

    I just purchased an iMac with WoW.
     
  24. Tiauguinho macrumors 6502a

    Tiauguinho

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  25. t0ast macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    #25
    WoW is running (almost) nicely on my G4 400MHz Sawtooth with 704 MB RAM and Nvidia Geforce 4 mx (32 mb).
    Can't do raiding, and duelling outside IF tho... but I'm doing 5-man instances and questing as everyone else.

    I wouldn't even think about buying WoW without at least 512 mb RAM.
     

Share This Page