Windows 2000 from VPC disc

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by mcarnes, Aug 8, 2006.

  1. mcarnes macrumors 68000

    mcarnes

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    USA! USA!
    #1
    Just got a new MacBook :D . My question:

    I have VPC 6.1 which includes a copy of Windows 2000 on the CD. Can I use this with Parallels? I have the Windows 2000 license key and everything. On the install CD, Windows 2000 is a zip file. When unzipped, it appears as a disc image on the mac desktop, and when double clicked it launches VPC.

    Another question: is Windows 2000 as functional as XP? I mean, can I do everything with 2000 that I could with XP (just with less eye candy)?

    I guess I really don't want to shell out more money to MS and buy XP if I can avoid it.
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    It may violate the EULA and I'm not sure you'd be able to install it in the first place, but it's worth a try. :)

    What are you wanting to do with Windows? In most cases, 2000 is as capable as XP.
     
  3. mcarnes thread starter macrumors 68000

    mcarnes

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    USA! USA!
    #3
    Just run some medical billing software that is not available in OSX. It's a cheap little program that ran fine under VPC.

    http://www.ezclaim.com/

    Didn't think it would violate EULA. I bought the full retail version of VPC and W2000. I'm not using it on the old mac (sold it), so want to use it on the new one. I dunno, guess maybe it does...

    If I buy XP should I get home or pro? I might get a MBP later, so I think I need XP Pro (?).
     
  4. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    You don't need Pro, but I'd go with Pro.
    I suspect you'll be fine with Win2k, however.
     
  5. kainjow Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    #5
    XP Pro is not needed, unless you're going to use the additional features. Just get Home if you are only going to run a program or two.

    Regarding it being legal or not, I'd say yes, as long as you don't have the same version installed on more than one machine. But if you really want to be sure, read the license agreement that came with the CD.
     
  6. mcarnes thread starter macrumors 68000

    mcarnes

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    USA! USA!
    #6
    I just thought I needed XP Pro to use both processors in the MBP, in case I decide to add games later and use boot camp.

    Please correct me if I'm wrong about this.

    But I'll just use W2000 until then (or at least try to). XP Pro is expensive. How they can charge over double what Tiger cost is ridiculous for what you get.
     

Share This Page