Windows 8 Bootcamp, no Wi-Fi

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by iLive, Aug 2, 2013.

  1. iLive
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Location:
    Denmark
    #1
    I installed Windows 8.1 on my 2013 MacBook Air as a separate partition, but there's no available internet connection. I can't even see any networks. What can be wrong?

    Please help. First time running a Mac, and first time installing Windows on one too. I've Googled everywhere, but nothing really made sense in my situation. Thanks.
     
  2. dpfenninger
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
  3. iLive
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Location:
    Denmark
    #3
    No, but that version is 5.0.5033 while mine is 5.1.0. Doesn't that mean that mine is newer?
     
  4. dpfenninger
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    #4
    Yeah, looks like your MacBook came with newer drivers than what is available on Apple's Boot Camp support page. Wish I had an answer for why your wifi isn't showing up then.
     
  5. costabunny
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    ~/
    #5
    Install the drivers you have and then see what happens.
     
  6. iLive
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Location:
    Denmark
  7. iLive
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Location:
    Denmark
    #7
    There was a driver named something with Internet, when that was installed it worked. :) Thanks a lot guys! :D
     
  8. costabunny
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    ~/
    #8
    well done :)
     
  9. iLive
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Location:
    Denmark
    #9
    U funny! :p

    Sorry, I just assumed everything in the folder would install. :I
     
  10. iLive
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Location:
    Denmark
    #10
    Guys, yesterday before I shut my Windows partition OFF, it said that it would "Update and Shutdown" which I let it. Today I have no Wi-Fi connections to connect to. Wi-Fi is ON but there's no connections to choose between. Everything was working fine yesterday, but it's like the update destroyed something.

    I tried to reinstall my driver for internet but it didn't work. And the internet works fine in OS X. :S
     
  11. mbafan
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    #11
    Just shutdown from windows itself (not restart or anything else but full shutdown), then press power key to switch on, hold alt and choose windows partition
     
  12. iLive
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Location:
    Denmark
    #12
    I'll try, 2 sec. But even if it works, any way to fix it?
     
  13. iLive
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Location:
    Denmark
  14. teffers
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #14
    I tried the shutdown, switch back on method and I still have the same wifi connectivity issues. :confused:
     
  15. iLive
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Location:
    Denmark
    #15
    And League of Legends doesn't work either. >_>
     
  16. iLive
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Location:
    Denmark
    #16
    Ok, so since updating Windows 8 ruined the OS, I decided to reinstall it and not update it. Perhaps you guys know the specific update that ruined it, so that I can update all other updates except for that? Would be helpful.
     
  17. Zintaro
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    #17
    Hey I am having the same problem! Hope apple updates their Bootcamp drivers soon enough.
     
  18. chrfr
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #18
    You download the correct drivers for the 2013 Air through the Boot Camp assistant, not from Apple's support site.
     
  19. Zintaro
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    #19
    How do i download the correct drivers from Bootcamp?
     
  20. ItHurtsWhenIP
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Location:
    'Merica!
    #20
    I downloaded the drivers, and had Wi-Fi on my Win 8 Pro partition Tuesday when I installed it. Worked fine.

    Yesterday, I logged into that partition and it couldn't find any available networks at all. Do I need to update something every time? Should I have shut down from the Windows partition and booted back up into it?
     
  21. ItHurtsWhenIP
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Location:
    'Merica!
    #21
    Just a follow-up to myself in a seemingly dead thread, but it turns out that when I want to run Win 8, I have to shut down the computer and run the Boot Camp partition off a fresh boot to get wi-fi to work. It won't work if I reboot from OS X into Win 8. Booting into OS X off a restart from Win 8 causes no problems, but the other way around does.

    Just in case anyone else has the same issue.
     
  22. kshape8
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    kshape8

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    #22
    Did you run it while on Windows or Mac? And how'd you run it? Trying to figure it out right now.
     
  23. Kissmyne
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Kissmyne

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    #23
    You run it in Windows. You will need to insert the USB Drive with the Windows support software that you would have created with Boot Camp Assistant. Using Windows Explorer Navigate to the USB Drive. There will be folders of various hardware manufacturers.. scroll through them and there is going to be an installer executable you will need to double click on.. or you can go through them manually..
     

Share This Page