Windows 98 Serv. Pack Or SE?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by rohopish, Jun 13, 2006.

1. rohopish macrumors member

Hey there everyone!

I'm trying to install a D-Link wireless adapter on an older laptop so that it can get onto the internet (it doesn't have an ethernet port; 32 MB of RAM, Win 98 FIRST EDITION, etc., very slow...). Problem is, it won't install because the drivers, updates, etc. whatever (this is what the guy at D-Link told me) aren't up to date enough for something as new as the product I'm trying to use. So, what I wanted to know (because I'm not that good with Windows anymore, I've been using alot of Macs lately, but I love them both equally! =) ) is should I download the service pack for 98 FIRST EDITION or somehow find a copy of WIN 98 SE? I read somewhere that by doing all the updates for Win 98 F.E., it'll be really similar to 98 SE.

Please note: as you make have guessed, this laptop has no internet access, so whatever I use off of this macintosh will have to be burnt to cd so I can tranfer it to the laptop and install, etc. THANK YOU ALL SO MUCH FOR YOUR HELP!!!!

P.S. I can't find that service pack anywhere and Microsoft won't download it easily to me because I'm on a Mac (pas de "Automatic Update lol)

Bobby

2. cardude280 macrumors member

i do believe that u need to find a copy of 98SE

3. erikamsterdam macrumors regular

erikamsterdam

and what are you going to do on the internet with that thing?
    No webpage will load anymore with 32Mb of RAM. Any Flash or Java will kill it.
    I am sorry, but you are wasting your time, hope you realize that or realize it now :p
    Also note that Win98SE has a critical security hole that will not be fixed anymore. Was just in the news couple of days ago.

4. rohopish thread starter macrumors member

Well, I'll Try

I'll try to get a copy of 98 SE if possible, and if not, I'll just take the card back. :( I'm only using this laptop for school anyway.